White Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
This was wonderful. I used a can of pinto beans(drained) puree'd in the blender to thicken it and I topped each bowl with cheese before serving rather than stirring it into the whole pot. Along with cornbread and a salad, this made a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTCHN6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
Was looking for a recipe to use up ground pork, what a find! This is really great! Have made this many times since. I only use one can of green chiles, 2 cans of beans and add an extra cup of broth (or 2). Not thick like chili, more like a soup. Might try thickening it like others suggest, but it is soooo good as is. Never been tempted to use ground turkey either, the ground pork is excellent and a nice change of pace. Make sure you cook the cumin and oregano for the 2-3 minutes like the directions say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
Some changes that worked well for me: I used Morningstar crumbles instead of ground pork, and vegetable broth and it was a surprisingly "meaty" meal! I added about 1 cup of frozen corn and instead of adding chiles in the beginning, I used Pepper-Cheddar cheese (but I bet Pepper-jack would work well, too)--that idea was from the "White Chili" recipe submitted by Tracy. Then I served it with Jiffy boxmix cornbread I threw in the oven as it was simmering and it made a decent, easy meal. Update: it also freezes well! I froze about half of the leftovers even though I thought the cheese might reheat poorly, but if anything it was better, the flavors came together more or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
I substituted ground beef for the pork & only used one onion and 1/4 tsp. oregano. You may want to add one tsp. of cumin & taste the chili before adding more, just to get it as spicy as you like. I found it a little too intense with the 2 tsps. & just added an extra 8 oz.container of chicken soup. It did make the recipe more like a soup than a chili but the flavor was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
Everyone was really dubious about this recipe - it really doesn't look very appetizing. But it turned out great! It truly is better the next day though so keep in mind. Otherwise it's a great variation on chili and seems much healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This chili has the best flavor! I only used 1 onion instead of 2. I also used some leftover chicken instead of the pork. The Monterey Jack cheese I used had jalepenos in it which spiced things up a bit! I was expecting it to be a bit thicker, but adding flour and water to the chili at the end fixes that! I will definately be making this one again! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
I was skeptical, I must say. Iwas ready to come back and give this 3 stars the night we ate it. However warmed up the next day this was amazing! Made the best chili-burgers ever with leftovers. Kids did not care for it, but hubby and I enjoyed. Used a can of pintos with jalepenos with GN beans and also pork sausage instead of just ground. Make ahead it is surely better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss  Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
This has become a staple in our house. My husband (the picky eater) loves it. I use ground chicken instead of pork and make my own broth with chicken boullion powder (adding more powder than needed for extra flavor). I use a little cornstarch at the end to thicken and it turns out perfect every time! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
This was so good! I hadn't heard of white chili before and I thought I'd give this a try. I used 2 cups of chicken broth,instead of the 4 cups in the recipe, to make the chili thicker. And I used ground turkey in place of the pork. This recipe was so simple and the result was just a great chili! Thanks Shirley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I used the suggestion of making it the day before to let it season over night. It was better the next day. But it is a wonderful recipe. I added some chicken with my broth which made it thicker. I don't feel it was too much cheese. Next time I may try some hot pepper cheese for a granish. This is a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States