White Chicken Enchilada Slow-Cooker Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2007
To give it 5 stars, add cumin. You can also layer this in a pyrex dish and bake at 350 for 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Awesome! I was suprised at how good and creamy this was. If you are looking for a lower cal/fat alternative, use light sourcream. The cream and soup make a suprisingly cheesesy consistency. Leave the cheese out altogether or sprinkle it on after its done and you've tasted it. You will be suprised. You dont even need the cheese. I used a can of tomatoes with the green chilies inside w/ lemon, then chopped up a tiny bit of green chile for added bite. (If you dont like spice, skip added chile). Used 1/4 tsp. garlic power instead of garlic clove and cilantro cause I had some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
This is my families new favorite dinner. I used Pilgrim Prides Eat Well Stay Healthy lime chicken breast. They are precooked so you simply heat them up in the mircowave and chop them up. I also substituted Rotel, drained, for the green chili's and used jalapeno sour cream dip for 1/2 the sour cream and added a can of black beans, drained. The tortillals will get mushy if you leave it in the crock pot too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
This was okay, but I don't think I'll make it again. It's a lot of food; it filled my 6-quart slow coooker. It was easy enough to make, but there wasn't anything special or unique about it. The recipe didn't specify what size tortilla to use, so I used soft taco size. Seven on each layer was far, far too much. I ended up with hard, dry tortilla layered between soupy cheese. Also, the combination of sour cream, cream of chicken soup, and chicken needs something to kick it up. One 7-ounce jar of chiles is not enough. I added 3 tablespoons of hot chili garlic sauce, and that made it more distinctive. Also, the recipe specified 15 chicken thighs, but not the amount of chicken breasts. I used four large breast, and that was not enough; I couldn't taste the chicken around all the tortillas. If I were to make this again, I would half everything, use 4 chicken breasts, and add some mixed vegatables. Over 800 calories a serving is a lot, and I personally don't think it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This is a great recipe, but it needs a little added zip. The first time I made it, I used pepper jack cheese and offered diners jalapeno peppers and taco sauce on the side. The second time I made it, I put in about 2/3 of a jar of Mrs. Renfros Green Chile sauce. I made it for a church potluck and it was a hit! Definitely a keeper in our house, with the added help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I loved this recipe. I ended up cooking it in the oven instead of the crockpot and I used corn tortillas because my family likes the corn texture better. This is almost like a recipe I used to make, but the addition of the sour cream makes it much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
My fiancee actually wanted to eat this 2 nights in a row! That NEVER happens! When we were making this, we left out half of the tortillas because it seemed like to much- DON'T! I wish I's put all of them in, and will do so next time. And the time after that, and the time after that... I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeffNie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
A great "throw together" dinner! Like other reviewers, I spiced it up, adding chili powder, cumin, and habanero. I did not have any black beans on hand, so I added a can of "Grillin'Beans" (the Santa Fe style), which worked out well. I cooked it on high for only an hour and half.The final result was a tasty cross between a flavorful rib-sticking, creamy chunky soup and a Mexican stew. I plan to experiment with adding more liquids as I think it has the potential to be a great tortilla soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debonweb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
We loved this. It served 5 adults and a couple kids. I have more of a narrow and tall slow cooker and I made three layers instead of two and I used a few less tortillas. I also used chicken breasts...I would probably use about 5 next time. I also added a little taco seasoning to the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Love it! Love it! Love it! It has become a favorite at home and a request for any pot-luck I go to. I have made it straight from the recipe and other times I have made some substitutions. Either way it is a hit. Got to love a crock-pot recipe that goes against the grain of just meat and veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States