White Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2003
UPDATE 11/2/2010 I am the submitter of this recipe. Since many cooks are having problems with the consistency of this recipe, I am thinking the best way to cook this is with a double boiler. If you do not have a double boiler set a glass bowl on top of a pan of water and bring to a boil; do not let the water touch the bottom of the bowl and above all be patient. The last time I made this for Chicken Enchiladas it was a bit too 'buttery' when I took them out of the oven. So, you might want to cut the butter in half. 12/27/2005 I am adding this addition to my comments above on this recipe to make directions a bit more clear---DO NOT BOIL--DO NOT SIMMER---HEAT VERY GENTLY, STIRRING CONSTANTLY OR WILL NOT BE THE PROPER CONSISTENCY INTENDED--if used as a sauce going into the oven, the bubbling from the oven heat will not cause consistency problems many have had--
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This is the exact same cheese dip the mexican rest. serves. I think the other reviews that were failures used the wrong type of cheese, all monterey jack is NOT the same. In fact the cheaper processed cheese food version of monterey jack works better than the good stuff. Certainly do not overcook. You will make the milk fats seperate and clump... When i add the sour cream i just beat it in and didnt return it to the heat after that.. Then it is perfectly creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
This cheese sauce is EXCELLENT!!!!! I do agree, cut the butter in half, but so simple and extremely tasty! I don't know where the last two reviewers went wrong; I think probably cooked it too much. Actually, you don't really 'cook' this; you just melt it together, stirring constantly over very low heat. Once it is mostly melted, I take it off the heat and cover with a lid to finish melting. I have made this and kept it warm with a chaffing dish. Keeping very low heat is a must or you will ruin a great thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
The way I made this sauce was great over nachos. I first made the recipe as written. I didn't like the chilis at all. Plus I felt like all that butter was not necessary. So the second time I cut it to 1/4 cup of butter, 3 cups of cheese and 3/4 cup of sour cream. It was GREAT! I added a tad bit of milk to give it a consistancy that we wanted. The key is to put the butter on LOW, let it melt, add the cheese, on LOW and let it melt. Then, on LOW, begin stirring the butter and melted cheese until it is mixed. This will occur, you just have to have some patience. If you don't you will get a clumpy mess. But that clumpy mess will smooth over time on LOW. Did I mention you should do it on LOW?? ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Here in Charleston, On the Border, is simply the best Mexican restaurant. They make a Chicken Burrito with a sour cream sauce that I have tried to duplicate for years....no longer, I found it here! What a great sauce. Put this over chicken burrito made with the Salsa Chicken Burrito Filling and you have a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Charleston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mikado, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Well...it's hard for me to fairly rate this recipe. i had been looking forward to having a white cheese dip (similar to those in mexican restaurants). so this morning when i found the recipe, i bought all the ingredients. since it was just me and my fiance, we cut the recipe down by half. He first melted the butter (but only used 1/2 stick, claiming it looked too 'fattening'). he then added in an 8 oz block of the cheese (cubed). now...perhaps i should have read the entire recipe for him, especially the last line stating "DO NOT ALLOW TO BOIL." I could not agree more. what should have been a delicious, sauce-like dip became a stretchy lump of cheese in the bottom of the bowl topped by a layer of melted butter. so please, take heed and DO NOT ALLOW TO BOIL! you might as well stick to cutting up cheese and placing it on a tortilla chip if you do. it would probably be a tasty dip, but do to error of the cook, it turned out as string cheese in a butter sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian N.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
My husband loves Mexican food and one of his favorites is the white sauce. Very good. I tried this and had the same problem as another reviewer...too buttery. So, I tried a second time....and it was better. It still didn't taste like that authentic sauce they serve at restaurants, but it will work as a substitute. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
this is great, I use pepper jack cheese and half a can of rotell, I wouldn't use this for chips though, this is more like a white sauce for taquitos or enchiladas. Infact this is the SAME sauce that a local mexican place (#1 in my city) uses on green chili chicken enchiladas. I have made it many times and people LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Sooo good on chicken enchiladas. Served at a wedding rehearsal dinner and got terrific compliments! The white ones were gone first :) Cook the sauce on simmer for a long time to get it nice and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I first made this as a topping for enchiladas and it was great. When I made it simply for a dip, it did not turn out right. My father-in-law explained that I needed to make a roux first (I am a new wife and a beginner cook!). After I did that it turned out right! I would suggest making the roux then adding the cheese! Loved the flavor though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States