White Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
I made this for our 4th of July party and was a little disappointed. Did not turn out like I had imagined. I did cut back on the butter as suggested but something was just not "right". Thank you anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Sooo good on chicken enchiladas. Served at a wedding rehearsal dinner and got terrific compliments! The white ones were gone first :) Cook the sauce on simmer for a long time to get it nice and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
I made this sauce to pour over chicken chimichangas, it was fabulous. I followed the recipe and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara Gosse
Reviewed: May 25, 2006
I made this today. I accidently just put everything into the melted butter instead of stirring it in, melting it and then adding the sour cream. I did reduce the butter to 1/2 cup and it was fine. Even thought I put everything in at the same time it worked out fine. Instead of a dip I used it as a sauce for chicken enchiladas that I posted a photo of. I pulled the meat off a rotissere chicken from wal-mart, heated it with spicy ranch beans and put in flour tortillas with cheese and then covered with cheese sauce. This recipe will work good for a dip too. I will make it again for a dip for chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Gosse

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Grayson, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2006
THIS IS AN AWESOME SAUCE! I served this to friends over Chicken Cordon Bleu and the reviews were wonderful. I left out the chilies and added a little half and half cream. The key is to keep it on a low fire and keep stirring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
I am not a bad cook but this does not work!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This is the exact same cheese dip the mexican rest. serves. I think the other reviews that were failures used the wrong type of cheese, all monterey jack is NOT the same. In fact the cheaper processed cheese food version of monterey jack works better than the good stuff. Certainly do not overcook. You will make the milk fats seperate and clump... When i add the sour cream i just beat it in and didnt return it to the heat after that.. Then it is perfectly creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Way too much butter. Didn't taste like cheese. Cheese didn't melt right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
this is great, I use pepper jack cheese and half a can of rotell, I wouldn't use this for chips though, this is more like a white sauce for taquitos or enchiladas. Infact this is the SAME sauce that a local mexican place (#1 in my city) uses on green chili chicken enchiladas. I have made it many times and people LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Incredible....absolutely incredible. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bud, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States