White Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Wasn't cheesy enough, tasted too much like sour cream for my taste. Could of been that I had to use cheddar and montery jack mix cheese because I couldn't find just MJ in our store. Will try to make again with different cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle L. Opitz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I found this to be too greasy. It had an ok taste but way too much grease
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
This was a easy recipe to make. I will probably use alittle less butter and sour cream and alittle more cheese next time. Everyone loved this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
It was good sauce but not like the white cheese sauce from the Mexican restuarants around here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doniphan, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This worked out perfectly for what I needed! I was concerned, because I didn't want to boil it but the cheese just wasn't melting into the butter well. But, it did. And once I added the sour cream we were in business. I used colby/jack, as that's what I had on hand and I didn't want to spend out more money on food when I had something that would work on hand. I added pepper, that's a personal taste. This went into my homemade chili perfectly and made a tasty chili mac. Cutting the recipe in half was just enough of a cheese sauce for my chili. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I was looking for something to use as a cheese dip with burritos. This was great! I had tried to buy the queso cheese in the store and melt it to make a cheese dip...needless to say it didn't work very well. The cheese stayed melted, even after it cooled and reheating it after it had been in the fridge worked fine. I didn't use the green chilies, though, instead I added about 1/4 cup of salsa and it was perfect for my family. I'm sure you could add a little more salsa for a more spicy cheese dip. This was a great recipe and will be one I will continue to use down the road.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina B.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
The way I made this sauce was great over nachos. I first made the recipe as written. I didn't like the chilis at all. Plus I felt like all that butter was not necessary. So the second time I cut it to 1/4 cup of butter, 3 cups of cheese and 3/4 cup of sour cream. It was GREAT! I added a tad bit of milk to give it a consistancy that we wanted. The key is to put the butter on LOW, let it melt, add the cheese, on LOW and let it melt. Then, on LOW, begin stirring the butter and melted cheese until it is mixed. This will occur, you just have to have some patience. If you don't you will get a clumpy mess. But that clumpy mess will smooth over time on LOW. Did I mention you should do it on LOW?? ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Also had the same problem, very buttery. Poured more than half the butter out and it turned out well after that. Next time I would cut the butter down significantly and possibly add more cheese...I would also recommend whisking the ingredients together if they start to separate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
So GOOD. There's a Mexican restaurant that used to be in the Kansas City area that made sauce like this and I couldn't figure out how to make it until tonight. I did, however, make a few changes based on the reviews. I used 3/4 cup butter, 1 cup sour cream and about 14 slices of Monterey Pepper Jack PROCESSED cheese - not the real stuff. I didn't use the chiles since I had the bite from the pepper jack cheese. Creamiest cheese sauce I've ever had - and YES - cook it SLOWLY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Gofron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States