White Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I have not made cheese sauce before. I did not care for this but it just might be because I just need some practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I agree with the other reviews. It was close but it had way too much better and the texture wasn't quite right. Plus, it doesn't reheat well. It just isn't the same as what you get in the restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This was very good. The only change I will make it to add a little jalapeno instead of some many chili's next time! Dint have quite enough of a kick for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
It was really good. A little lacking in the spice department, I added a tiny bit of crushed red pepper to it and that helped a lot. It had to be kept warm to not get clumpy. But overall, we really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Used this recipe, minus the chilies and served it over shell noodles for my 2 year old - she loved it, and so did mommy and daddy! Great basic recipe, been looking for one of these that doesn't use velveeta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma2kinsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Pretty much the closest sauce that I've made to the real thing you get at tex mex restaurants. The taste and smell is almost spot on, but the consistency isn't quite there. That being said, I LOVE this recipe. I'll be using it and experimenting some more with it to tailor it to my own tastes, but go with exactly what it says to get a great tasting white cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monticello, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This was ok but still not like the resturant makes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wakeupwriting
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This turned out surprisingly well! I was looking for something close to On The Border sour cream sauce, and this wasn't quite that, but good nonetheless. I used 1 stick (1/2 cup) unsalted butter, about 2 cups cheese (it was a cheddar jack blend, couldn't find plain jack at my grocery store), 1 cup sour cream, and about 6 oz chilis. At first, it didn't seem everything was going to melt, and I was afraid the consistency was going to be lumpy or stringy. However, I just kept stirring and bumping up the heat (still keeping it under boiling), and it turned into a very creamy smooth consistency with time. I poured it over chicken burritos. Husband raved. Yes, it is fatty, but you don't need any cheese or sour cream in your burritos when you use this, so it's the only bad part of an otherwise healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wakeupwriting

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I'm trying to think of what ingredient is missing here. I thought that the fat content was much too high for a thin, smooth flow onto a plate of enchiladas or for a dip. It was more like the consistency of room temperature butter. It has a lot of potential, it just wasn't what I had expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This recipe was much too salty. I much prefer other recipes that incorporate different cheeses instead of strictly the Jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States