White Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I used this as a cheese sauce over broccoli. I cut out the chilies, cut down on the butter and sour cream by about 20%. I added a little heavy cream to thin it into a more sauce like consistency . Everyone loved it, the kids of course dipped everything in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Great flavor but very gritty... would love to try again with some tips on eliminating the gritty texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
The taste of this cheese sauce was good, but I couldn't get it to be the right consistency. The texture was very gritty even though I followed the instructions. I ended up throwing it away :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jog Dish
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Wow was this a SUPER disappointment!!! This turned out so gritty, and I never allowed it to come anywhere close to a boil! The taste of this was pretty good if you could get over the unappitizing texture of it. I had high hopes for this one...what a let down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by beingzoe
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
So good. Served this over pepper steak sandwiches. Simple and fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beingzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I took extra care not to let the sauce boil as many others stated, but my sauce came out grainy! i don't know what i did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Great on tacos and burritos....I would only add one can of green chilis next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pupgroomer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berlin Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This sauce was great. It will become a staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBC150

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Things I love about this recipe: 1) It's incredibly simple 2) It uses a few basic ingredients and lets them do the work as far as flavor/texture is concerned rather than adding countless extra ingredients 3) It tastes authentic. I read the reviews for this and contemplated reducing the butter, but I wanted to trust the author and in my opinion, the 1 cup of butter is just the right amount to "coax" the cheese into melting slowly (yet doesn't create a buttery layer while cooking). I may have used a little less on the Jalapenos, but that's really just personal preference. As many of the other reviewers have pointed out, cook it on a LOW setting (ex: simmer or just above). It will turn out better that way. And it helps to add the shredded cheese in small amounts (i.e. adding it slowly rather than all at once). I did the same thing with the sour cream. In the end, it came out perfect. I will warn people that this comes out tasting a little on the salty side, probably because of the butter. I would definitely go for an unsalted butter, if you're considering buying some before making this recipe. Very authentic, though. Tastes, as some have suggested, just like the stuff from Mexican restaurants. Maybe more appropriately called "queso". I used mine atop a plate of nachos with taco beef sprinkled all over. Healthy? Hell no. Delicious? Hell yes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I tired this with the montery jack cheese and didn't like how bitter it tasted. So I then tried it with 3 cups of White American Cheese, 1/4 cup butter and 3/4 sour cream and a 1/2 chilis. Followed the directions but found using a wire wisk help incorporate the butter into the melted cheese so it wouldn't just sit on top. Turned out GREAT!!!!! Tastes just like our local mexican resturants cheese sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States