White Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I used this recipe with the one from this site called "Easy White Chicken Enchiladas" and it was DA BOMB! It was a lot easier to make than I thought it would be, and I'm so glad I tried it. As long as you remember that you're pretty much just gently warming up/melting the stuff it will be fine. I'm a bad one for tweaking recipes and rating them based on my changes (same thing I roll my eyes at other reviewers for doing, lol) but I actually followed this one exactly, other than reducing the butter amount to 3/4 c.) and it made enough sauce for a dozen enchiladas. My pretty picky kids were begging to lick out the (still hot!) pot, lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glass Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I had high hopes for this sauce based on reviews. I made it exactly as written and was disappointed that I wasted the money on ingredients. There was too much butter, so much so that I couldn't completely incorporate it and it just sat on top like an oil slick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Black Creek, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very Good! I cooked this on low from start to finish and had no problems with graininess. I hate to change recipes from the get go but ended up using Greek Yogurt in place of Sour Cream and Jalapeno Peppers (that's what I had on hand). I don't even care for spicy hot dishes and enjoyed this! Hubby licked the bowl clean. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEALCALF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
EXCELLENT dip. We are a cheese dip fanatic house and I was looking for something different. This was it!!! You must however cook on LOW...LOW...LOW. I have done this before and had a whole clump of cheese stuff. I used 2/3 cup of country crock butter and 1 block of Monterrey jack and colby cheese that I shredded by hand (which I think helps in the melting process better than pkg already shredded). It did change the cheese color to a yellow instead of white. I used 2/3 cup of sour cream. I also used 1/2 cup of Salsa instead of chilies and 1 tablespoon of Fiesta Party Dip for some kick. Family loved it as a dip. Thanks for the great new staple in our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I loved it. Nice and creamy, an excellent addition to our enchilada nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Really enjoyed the recipe but I am looking for a Monterey Jack Cream Sauce for Mahi Mahi with crawfish and shrimp. If any one knows of an recipe for this kind of thing let me know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Good. I made a few adjustments. I used mexican blend cheese instead of just monterey jack. I cut the butter in half, used non-fat sour cream, and canned tomatoes/green chiles, as well as adding onion powder and paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Poor consistency, bland flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Cut the recipe way down for our family. Used a Jack/Cheddar cheese blend and a slice of 2% milk pepperjack instead of the green chilies. Used light sour cream. Very, very good and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I can't give this sauce more than 4 stars due to the modifications. I cut the butter to 2 tablespoonfuls (can't imagine 1 cup) and made a roux with it and 1 & 1/2 TBS of flour to make it thicker. After doing this I added the sour cream, 1 lg. can green chilies, I can green chili enchilada sauce, approx. 2TBS cream, and then the cheese last. Also added a bit of garlic because I'm a garlic freak. It's a keeper this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States