White Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
I didn't scroll all the way down and realize this was supposed to be a dip. LOL! I used the entire cup of butter and used it as a pasta sauce. It is, so far, the best white cheese recipe I have found. I looked it up again tonight because I was craving pasta again and needed to confirm the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I used this recipe with the one from this site called "Easy White Chicken Enchiladas" and it was DA BOMB! It was a lot easier to make than I thought it would be, and I'm so glad I tried it. As long as you remember that you're pretty much just gently warming up/melting the stuff it will be fine. I'm a bad one for tweaking recipes and rating them based on my changes (same thing I roll my eyes at other reviewers for doing, lol) but I actually followed this one exactly, other than reducing the butter amount to 3/4 c.) and it made enough sauce for a dozen enchiladas. My pretty picky kids were begging to lick out the (still hot!) pot, lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glass Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I had high hopes for this sauce based on reviews. I made it exactly as written and was disappointed that I wasted the money on ingredients. There was too much butter, so much so that I couldn't completely incorporate it and it just sat on top like an oil slick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Black Creek, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very Good! I cooked this on low from start to finish and had no problems with graininess. I hate to change recipes from the get go but ended up using Greek Yogurt in place of Sour Cream and Jalapeno Peppers (that's what I had on hand). I don't even care for spicy hot dishes and enjoyed this! Hubby licked the bowl clean. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEALCALF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
EXCELLENT dip. We are a cheese dip fanatic house and I was looking for something different. This was it!!! You must however cook on LOW...LOW...LOW. I have done this before and had a whole clump of cheese stuff. I used 2/3 cup of country crock butter and 1 block of Monterrey jack and colby cheese that I shredded by hand (which I think helps in the melting process better than pkg already shredded). It did change the cheese color to a yellow instead of white. I used 2/3 cup of sour cream. I also used 1/2 cup of Salsa instead of chilies and 1 tablespoon of Fiesta Party Dip for some kick. Family loved it as a dip. Thanks for the great new staple in our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I loved it. Nice and creamy, an excellent addition to our enchilada nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Really enjoyed the recipe but I am looking for a Monterey Jack Cream Sauce for Mahi Mahi with crawfish and shrimp. If any one knows of an recipe for this kind of thing let me know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Good. I made a few adjustments. I used mexican blend cheese instead of just monterey jack. I cut the butter in half, used non-fat sour cream, and canned tomatoes/green chiles, as well as adding onion powder and paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Poor consistency, bland flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Cut the recipe way down for our family. Used a Jack/Cheddar cheese blend and a slice of 2% milk pepperjack instead of the green chilies. Used light sour cream. Very, very good and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Better-Than-Olive Garden® Alfredo Sauce

Classic creamy and cheesy Alfredo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States