White Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Incredible....absolutely incredible. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bud, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
this is great, I use pepper jack cheese and half a can of rotell, I wouldn't use this for chips though, this is more like a white sauce for taquitos or enchiladas. Infact this is the SAME sauce that a local mexican place (#1 in my city) uses on green chili chicken enchiladas. I have made it many times and people LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
UPDATE 11/2/2010 I am the submitter of this recipe. Since many cooks are having problems with the consistency of this recipe, I am thinking the best way to cook this is with a double boiler. If you do not have a double boiler set a glass bowl on top of a pan of water and bring to a boil; do not let the water touch the bottom of the bowl and above all be patient. The last time I made this for Chicken Enchiladas it was a bit too 'buttery' when I took them out of the oven. So, you might want to cut the butter in half. 12/27/2005 I am adding this addition to my comments above on this recipe to make directions a bit more clear---DO NOT BOIL--DO NOT SIMMER---HEAT VERY GENTLY, STIRRING CONSTANTLY OR WILL NOT BE THE PROPER CONSISTENCY INTENDED--if used as a sauce going into the oven, the bubbling from the oven heat will not cause consistency problems many have had--
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
SUPURB! I took your advise Wilemon, since you submitted this excellent recipe, and used 1/2 cup of butter instead of the full 1 cup. My family and dinner guest went crazy over this sauce. Absolutely the BEST white cheese sauce I have ever eaten. Maybe not authenticly Mexican, but we all agreed, we like it even better than the restaurants!!!! I also use this sauce as a dip for Southwestern Eggrolls, sooooo wonderful! Thanks Wilemon, so good, so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
This cheese sauce is EXCELLENT!!!!! I do agree, cut the butter in half, but so simple and extremely tasty! I don't know where the last two reviewers went wrong; I think probably cooked it too much. Actually, you don't really 'cook' this; you just melt it together, stirring constantly over very low heat. Once it is mostly melted, I take it off the heat and cover with a lid to finish melting. I have made this and kept it warm with a chaffing dish. Keeping very low heat is a must or you will ruin a great thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
Soooo good over chicken enchiladas! Yes, a little buttery, so will take the suggestion to cut down on the butter next time. This is the ONLY sauce I will use on my chicken enchiladas from now on! Took this to a potluck and it was devoured. So many wanted the recipe and couldn’t believe it was so simple. Thanks Wilemon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
Exactly what I was looking for. I also cut the butter in half as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
This was exactly what I was looking for also, I did use less butter as other people suggested and it was very good as an enchilada sauce and we also have used over nachos. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
This is a VERY Good sauce. It would be good for dip with chips as well as a sauce over other foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
Very good! Tastes like the sauce I get from our local Mexican restaurant. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States