White Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2003
UPDATE 11/2/2010 I am the submitter of this recipe. Since many cooks are having problems with the consistency of this recipe, I am thinking the best way to cook this is with a double boiler. If you do not have a double boiler set a glass bowl on top of a pan of water and bring to a boil; do not let the water touch the bottom of the bowl and above all be patient. The last time I made this for Chicken Enchiladas it was a bit too 'buttery' when I took them out of the oven. So, you might want to cut the butter in half. 12/27/2005 I am adding this addition to my comments above on this recipe to make directions a bit more clear---DO NOT BOIL--DO NOT SIMMER---HEAT VERY GENTLY, STIRRING CONSTANTLY OR WILL NOT BE THE PROPER CONSISTENCY INTENDED--if used as a sauce going into the oven, the bubbling from the oven heat will not cause consistency problems many have had--
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
My husband loves Mexican food and one of his favorites is the white sauce. Very good. I tried this and had the same problem as another reviewer...too buttery. So, I tried a second time....and it was better. It still didn't taste like that authentic sauce they serve at restaurants, but it will work as a substitute. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
SUPURB! I took your advise Wilemon, since you submitted this excellent recipe, and used 1/2 cup of butter instead of the full 1 cup. My family and dinner guest went crazy over this sauce. Absolutely the BEST white cheese sauce I have ever eaten. Maybe not authenticly Mexican, but we all agreed, we like it even better than the restaurants!!!! I also use this sauce as a dip for Southwestern Eggrolls, sooooo wonderful! Thanks Wilemon, so good, so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
I fixed it then put it in the tiny crock to keep it hot, must have been too hot, as it was awful, and burned to the sides. Before it went in there, I tried it and it was very bland and grainy. It did not change much in the crock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
I could not get this recipe to work. The chees would not melt properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
This cheese sauce is EXCELLENT!!!!! I do agree, cut the butter in half, but so simple and extremely tasty! I don't know where the last two reviewers went wrong; I think probably cooked it too much. Actually, you don't really 'cook' this; you just melt it together, stirring constantly over very low heat. Once it is mostly melted, I take it off the heat and cover with a lid to finish melting. I have made this and kept it warm with a chaffing dish. Keeping very low heat is a must or you will ruin a great thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
This sauce was pretty good served over tortilla chips. I used 1/2 cup of butter like other users suggested and added cooked shredded chicken to the mixture. Nothing spectacular, but pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
This recipe was just OK. My husband didn't really care for it and neither of us ate very much of it. It was pretty bland except for the green chilis which was the only flavor in the sauce. It wasn't really creamy either, not what I was expecting. I most likely will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
Soooo good over chicken enchiladas! Yes, a little buttery, so will take the suggestion to cut down on the butter next time. This is the ONLY sauce I will use on my chicken enchiladas from now on! Took this to a potluck and it was devoured. So many wanted the recipe and couldn’t believe it was so simple. Thanks Wilemon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
This was good, but I used pepperjack cheese instead. Seemed to add some extra flavor. Was really good over chicken enchiladas. Also cut down on the butter a bit. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States