White Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 18, 2007
This was a pretty good sauce, but does not keep in the refrigerator. We put the sauce on top of enchiladas and stored the leftovers in the fridge; the leftovers were a bit gross with the cheese sauce. Still not what I'm looking for, but very close and does taste pretty good. By the way, you probably don't need as much butter as it calls for, because not all of it blended in with my cheese. I'm reducing it to half if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArlenePlunkett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Here in Charleston, On the Border, is simply the best Mexican restaurant. They make a Chicken Burrito with a sour cream sauce that I have tried to duplicate for years....no longer, I found it here! What a great sauce. Put this over chicken burrito made with the Salsa Chicken Burrito Filling and you have a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Charleston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mikado, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
tried it, it was delisous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
This was very rich and would be good as a sauce for cheese or chicken enchiladas. Not recommended as a dip. If I make this again, I will definitely use less butter. 1/2-3/4 cup should be sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This was very good on chicken enchiladas, but I didn't care for it as only a dip with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Well...it's hard for me to fairly rate this recipe. i had been looking forward to having a white cheese dip (similar to those in mexican restaurants). so this morning when i found the recipe, i bought all the ingredients. since it was just me and my fiance, we cut the recipe down by half. He first melted the butter (but only used 1/2 stick, claiming it looked too 'fattening'). he then added in an 8 oz block of the cheese (cubed). now...perhaps i should have read the entire recipe for him, especially the last line stating "DO NOT ALLOW TO BOIL." I could not agree more. what should have been a delicious, sauce-like dip became a stretchy lump of cheese in the bottom of the bowl topped by a layer of melted butter. so please, take heed and DO NOT ALLOW TO BOIL! you might as well stick to cutting up cheese and placing it on a tortilla chip if you do. it would probably be a tasty dip, but do to error of the cook, it turned out as string cheese in a butter sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian N.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
My heart almost stopped at the thought of adding a whole cup of butter to cheese so, I used light margarine and light sour cream. It was awful and maybe, substituting low fat ingredients is what made it so bad. But, I just couldn't bring myself to add a whole cup of real butter to it. I also think that there is a special technique to melting a cheese so that it melts properly. Although, I'm not sure what that is I'll be researching it before I try anything like that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
... so there's a small mexican restaurant where i live and i love to eat there just because of their white cheese dip. so when i tried this, i wasn't expecting anything like theirs. well, i have to admit that there were too many green pepper things in it, and next time i probably won't put any. but my mom and dad loved it - tastes great with just chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I first made this as a topping for enchiladas and it was great. When I made it simply for a dip, it did not turn out right. My father-in-law explained that I needed to make a roux first (I am a new wife and a beginner cook!). After I did that it turned out right! I would suggest making the roux then adding the cheese! Loved the flavor though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
I don't think I have ever given a one star, but this was bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States