White Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This recipe was much too salty. I much prefer other recipes that incorporate different cheeses instead of strictly the Jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
With some changes, this cheese sauce was great! For starters I only used 1/2 the amount of butter called for. I added 1/2 cup flour, wisking it together with the melted butter, then slowly added 1 cup milk (while cooking on LOW heat). Once that was smooth and creamy, I added the cheese, chilies and sour cream. I stirred it often and it is IMPORTANT to cook it slowly on LOW heat. It will take awhile to become a creamy consistancy. I almost gave up, it looked grainy and just not good, but I gave it a little more time and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Nault

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I am so disappointed in this recipe. It was WAY too much butter and the sauce had a grainy bad consistancy. After deciding to store in fridge to taste again later, it was a more greasy solid mass. I hated to waste all those expensive ingredients. I will keep looking for a recipe to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Republic, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I really liked this cheese sauce, but my husband wasn't convinced. I also made it for guests He didn't like the texture and thought it should be creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjamison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
didn't taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Way too much butter. Sauce was greasy. Cheese finally does melt even though you think it won't. If I made this again I would cut the butter down to 1/4 because 1/2 was still too much. Needs more spice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
You can also use white american cheese in this recipe. It turns out much creamier and does not separate if you have to bake it and is great with or without the peppers/salsa--kid friendly! Works very well with chips, chimichangas, enchiladas or anything at all! Do cut the butter in at least half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I just couldn't get this to work out, even with following others' tips to cut back on the butter to 1/4 cup, and only use low heat. The flavor was good, the consistency wasn't (it quickly hardened and became grainy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGYEAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Moon Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Not what i expected...but not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crissandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Better-Than-Olive Garden® Alfredo Sauce

Classic creamy and cheesy Alfredo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States