White Cheese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
It's very good on main dishes but I wasn't crazy about it as a chip dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarnspice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Loved this recipe! Definitely agree with cutting the butter. Excellent flavor with the chilis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
very good!! I read the reviews from others and took the advice and mine turned out perfect. I made chicken enchiladas, and poured it all over and my family loved it!! Thank you to all the reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
AWESOME!! I did modify it a bit by adding more of everything but butter (I wanted A LOT) and I put a few shakes of chipotle and I used jalepenos. I also added milk as needed. SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I have been making Mexican cheese dip/sauce for years, but decided to try this one. Like other reviewers, mine turned out grainy with a bad texture. It's nothing like the white cheese sauces and dips in Mexican Restaurants all across the South East. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nolagyrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
i would give it no stars but since that is not possible i will stick to 1. This taste nothing like the Mexican restaurant. So disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Well, I tried twice and both times this sauce turned out grainy. The first time, I admit, was cooked on too high of heat, but the second time was cooked at low (below simmer on my cooktop) and it still turned out grainy, even after stirring for over an hour on low heat, removing from heat and returning. Sorry, I've had better luck using white american cheese and will stick to that recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This IS a tasty recipe! BUT... there is one thing I'd like to add... When I melted the cheese and butter together, then added the sour cream, it DID become kinda grainy! I read the reviews before making it, and saw that someone said to try a double boiler! Once I saw the grainy-ness, I quickly took it off the stove and put another pot of boiling water on, and sat my cheese pot on it (like a homemade double boiler) and it became creamy and smooth within the next couple minutes. Since my kids hate anything that is hot or spicy, I didn't add any kind of peppers in, but it WAS very tasty after getting it smooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I love this sauce. I rub some taco seasoning on chicken breasts and bake them. Put them on a bed of rice and cover with this cheese sauce. Wonderful! Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom4girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Has anyone tried using crema fresca instead of sour cream? The way my abuela always makes it she uses crema fresca. Since it is thinner in consistency than sour cream, I'm afraid to try it her way because I'm not sure how to adjust the amount of crema fresca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courtneyswife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States