White Cake with Lemon Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2000
I found this cake to be a lot heavier than I'd anticipated. The lemon filling was nice but I won't likely be serving this cake any time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2001
My husband requested a layered cake with filling for his birthday. I found this recipe and it was a big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
I thought this recipe was excellent! The filling was superb!! I love not-so-sweet cakes; topping the cake with wipped cream and strawberries worked well. I would recommend this as a summer cake, also good with tea. I didn't find the cake heavy as one reviewer did, although, I wouldn't classify it as light either. The cake base it self was of good taste, one of the best basic white cakes I have made. Thank you for this lovely recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I made this cake for my son's birthday. I used Splenda rather than white sugar so the layers did not rise very high. Although he loved the cake, I thought it had too much orange which overpowered the lemon flavor which gave it a "funny" taste. I think my son said he loved it because he didn't want to hurt my feelings. I doubt I'll be making this cake anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
I needed a recipe for white cake so I used this one without the lemon filling (I hate lemon filling) and it came out great. I made it with strawberries and whipped cream icing and I added an extra splash of milk to make sure it was moist, and it was eaten up within 2 days!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Willowbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
scrumptious! particularly if one avoids questionable substitutions...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
I made this cake for my moms birthday, and it came out wonderfully!!! Very easy to make, very moist, and very light!!! perfect for summer!!! i used heavy whipping cream for a frosting which fit perfect with the light cake!! i can't say enough good things about this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
The flavor and texture of this cake were outstanding, but I had a little trouble with the filling. It was either too much or not thick enough and it oozed out from between the layers as I was frosting the top and sides. Maybe I didn't cook it long enough. I will probably try this again another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
The cake tasted like flour. It was dense and too sweet. The flavour was really flat.(Maybe because i didn't add the vanilla?) Also because the cake was so dense and heavy, it was very difficult to stop the orange/lemon filling from squeezing out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea F
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This recipe is fantastic. I used it to make an Easter Bonnet cake that we used on a Buffet table. It looked good, and tasted even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea F

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States