White Cake with Lemon Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Everyone thought the cake taked great, the only problem is the filling made icing and cutting rather difficult. The filling was oozing out everywhere, and did not look all that appetizing. Thank goodness for my brave family who tried it. Next time I make the fililng I will not use the whole recipe in between the layers. I will also refrigerate the cake prior to icing and cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I made just the cake mix, and it was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
The flavor and texture of the cake were excellent. For the filling, I used a little more lemon juice and a little less orange juice, and I threw in some lemon zest, too, because I wanted a more lemony flavor. It turned out really nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I made just the cake section of the recipe. With it i made 20 cupcakes. I discovered my milk had gone bad, so I supstituted vanilla soy milk added a nice texture and extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
this cake was way too dense for me. The filling tasted good, and so did the icing, but the cake... well i think next time i'll just go out and buy a box mix or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I have been waiting all day to write this review. For a week I had planned to make this cake for my husband's birthday. This morning I did just that. I wondered about the shortening amt. & felt something was wrong once the batter was made, the consistency was 'off'. But because of all the rave reviews I hoped for the best. Now I feel making dessert recipes is not hard- follow the directions, it's that simple. I always review my recipes after ea. step & ingredient. That being said- this cake was awful. I almost cried, I was so in disbelief and now I had no cake or time to make a new one for my husband. I saved the cake for when he did get home- we both agreed, it tastes like weird cornbread, now how is that??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I really loved this cake. I gave it four stars because despite liberally greasing the cake pans it stuck to the bottom making have to make two batters for one occasion. I used wax paper on the second attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I'd lost the white cake recipie I used to make my Rhubarb Cake and used this one instead . . . it's great! Cake is light and delicate, top browns nicely. I don't miss my old recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
This is good and looks pretty. Once assembled, cover and put in the fridge until serving time, for easier slicing. I substituted 2 eggs for the 4 egg whites and lemon extract for the vanilla. I used Carol's Lemon Icing recipe to frost the top of the cake and also between the 2 layers. Yummy! Thanks, Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
THIS CAKE SHOULD HAVE WON THE PHOTO CONTEST. IT TASTE GREAT AS WELL. THE LADIES AT THE SPRING FASHION SHOW RAVED OVER THE CAKE! THANKS FOR THE RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States