White Cake with Lemon Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
cake tastes okay. nothing special. but after making it twice it sticks in the pans no matter what I did. I greased liberally, I floured and greased, in nice, heavy duty non sick pans and it stuck Badly both times. it is an easy cake for my kids to help with making since it' s made differently than most recipes, but I will not make it again. there are better recipes on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JYHICKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
I used this as a base for my recipe and tweaked it quite a bit and it turned out really good. I used 1/2 cup butter (your could use shortening like the recipe states), 1 1/2 cup white sugar, 4 egg whites, 2tsp vanilla, 2 cups of flour, 1 tsp salt, 1/2tbsp of baking soda (no baking powder), reduced the milk to 3/4 cup and used 3/4 cup of sourcream. First I whipped butter and the sugar together. added the egg whites 1 at a time. incorporating each after each addition. Then I whipped the batter on high for 2-3 minutes until nice a fluffy. Then mixed in the vanilla. In a separate bowl I combined the flour, salt and baking soda. I alternately added the flour mixture with the sourcream, incorporating each addition before adding the next. I scalded the milk and slowly added it to the batter. looking forward to tweaking it more for different flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Can t understand some of the problems encountered with this simple cake I do suggest you use cake flour (sifted before measuring) which gives a lighter texture. Also you will need to add about 2 tbsp. more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keri
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Used ingredients just as the recipe specified, but baked a little differently because I was making a multiple-layer cake. I creamed the sugar, shortening and milk before adding the flour, so as not to develop too much gluten and make it tough. Then I split the batter into 3 portions (by weight) and baked in three 9-inch pans for 13 minutes at 365. Greased and liberally floured the pans and my cakes all came out with no problems at all. Delicious! My hard-to-please hubby said it was very moist, and we both ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
We too had to make a cake for family bday, but cake is too small, weird cornbread like texture, stuck to pan even though I greased and floured. Very Dissappointed, but will use this cake in a triffle instead. I say dont waste your time on this one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Italiank's

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I love lemon! Lemonade, lemon bars, and of corse lemon cake! but i have to give a big thumbs down on the format (sorry tomboy) but as for taste delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, and had the same problem as another reviewer - the cake stuck to the pan. Maybe try greasing and flour - but I tossed the recipe and will try a different one. (My rating is for the cake, not the filling. I was using a chocolate filling.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella67

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This cake was very light and tasted great. I followed the recipe exactly as written. The only reason I gave it four stars was that I had problems with it sticking to the cake pan, as others described. I would probably use wax paper if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This cake tasted very good. HOWEVER: 1. It stuck even to wax paper! 2. The batter was a weird consistancy and looked curdled. 3. It was terribly crumbly. It did not stay in one peice. 4. It was overly sweet. So if looks don't matter this is a good cake for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
was very crumby but I added a few tablespoons of raspberry jam to the batter to add a touch of flavor. I did not make it with the lemon filling, I used the brownie frosting found on this website. I will try making this again without the jam to see if it is still crumby. Tasted very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States