White Cake with Lemon Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2005
scrumptious! particularly if one avoids questionable substitutions...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
I needed a recipe for white cake so I used this one without the lemon filling (I hate lemon filling) and it came out great. I made it with strawberries and whipped cream icing and I added an extra splash of milk to make sure it was moist, and it was eaten up within 2 days!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Willowbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
I made this cake for my moms birthday, and it came out wonderfully!!! Very easy to make, very moist, and very light!!! perfect for summer!!! i used heavy whipping cream for a frosting which fit perfect with the light cake!! i can't say enough good things about this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I made this cake for my son's birthday. I used Splenda rather than white sugar so the layers did not rise very high. Although he loved the cake, I thought it had too much orange which overpowered the lemon flavor which gave it a "funny" taste. I think my son said he loved it because he didn't want to hurt my feelings. I doubt I'll be making this cake anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I really loved this cake. I gave it four stars because despite liberally greasing the cake pans it stuck to the bottom making have to make two batters for one occasion. I used wax paper on the second attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
The flavor and texture of the cake were excellent. For the filling, I used a little more lemon juice and a little less orange juice, and I threw in some lemon zest, too, because I wanted a more lemony flavor. It turned out really nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This cake tasted very good. HOWEVER: 1. It stuck even to wax paper! 2. The batter was a weird consistancy and looked curdled. 3. It was terribly crumbly. It did not stay in one peice. 4. It was overly sweet. So if looks don't matter this is a good cake for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I'd lost the white cake recipie I used to make my Rhubarb Cake and used this one instead . . . it's great! Cake is light and delicate, top browns nicely. I don't miss my old recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2001
My husband requested a layered cake with filling for his birthday. I found this recipe and it was a big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I made just the cake mix, and it was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States