White Cake Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
So good I could eat this with a spoon! Since the frosting doesn't call for butter, and I did want a white frosting, I used Hi-Ratio shortening, clear vanilla and some butter flavoring. I made 1-1/2 times the recipe (for Mini Oreo Surprise Cupcakes) and used an egg white for part of the water called for, then just added water without measuring exactly until I had the consistency I wanted for piping. This was creamy, fluffy, and pleasantly sweet and flavorful, with no greasy mouth feel. (I highly recommend Hi-Ratio Shortening for frostings like this) I've made some fine white or buttercream frostings from this site and this one truly stands out as one of the best. I ended up with some frosting leftover, but believe me it will NOT go to waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I thought this recipe was fantastic. I didn't substitue the butter for the shortening, I made it exactly the way it was said to be made. YUMMMY MMMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bucket of cookies
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
THIS HAD A VERY GOOD TASTE BUT I DON'T KNOW WHAT I DID WORNG BUT FOR SOME REASON MY FROSTING HAD A GLOW TO IT. CAN ANYBODY TELL ME WHY???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Wow is this frosting ever good! I doubled it - used clear vanilla extract, 2 Tbsp. of warm water and 5 Tbsp. of whole milk. This is a keeper for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This frosting is exactly what it says...."white decorator frosting". It is very sweet, not much flavor (but that's how white decorator frostings are), and it's a good consistancy. I used milk instead of water and added a little more than 4 TBS until I got the consistancy I wanted. I chose this because I was out of butter and needed a recipe that didn't call for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This is the best frosting ever!!!! Here in The Netherlands, whe don`t know a lot about frostings and icing and so whe don`t have a lot of things that you can buy in the US or UK but for all the people in Holland there`s a tip: Shortening can be replaced by creamy butter or as whe call it "roomboter". Thanx for this great recipe. Manon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
Mediocre. Its a little grainy and doesnt taske sweet. I would use 1/2 butter/margarine and 1/2 shortening also add more vanilla extract lots lots more. that improves the taste. looks nice on cakes though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
One word---FABULOUS!! I made this frosting for a group, and everyone raved about it!! It tastes just like the frosting you get on store-bought cakes. I also made a chocolate version--used milk instead of water, and added about 1/4 cup cocoa, and the results were equally as wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Salm Klysen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Easy and quick recipe (my favorite kind!) and tasted great too. Used 1/2 butter and 1/2 Smart Balance veg shortening. Also subbed 1/2 of the water for heavy cream. Needed a few extra drops for the right consistency. Frosting is pretty, spreads well and looks great with decorations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dixfield, Maine, USA
Living In: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
FABULOUS!! I made two white 8" round cakes and topped one with this delicious frosting and angel flake coconut. It looked so beautiful! On the other one, I used a little red food coloring to make a strawberry cake with pink frosting. I decorated it with fresh strawberries. This frosting is so versatile; goes on smoothly and is so fluffy! My husband and grandkids loved their cakes! Will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States