White Cake Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
So good I could eat this with a spoon! Since the frosting doesn't call for butter, and I did want a white frosting, I used Hi-Ratio shortening, clear vanilla and some butter flavoring. I made 1-1/2 times the recipe (for Mini Oreo Surprise Cupcakes) and used an egg white for part of the water called for, then just added water without measuring exactly until I had the consistency I wanted for piping. This was creamy, fluffy, and pleasantly sweet and flavorful, with no greasy mouth feel. (I highly recommend Hi-Ratio Shortening for frostings like this) I've made some fine white or buttercream frostings from this site and this one truly stands out as one of the best. I ended up with some frosting leftover, but believe me it will NOT go to waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I thought this recipe was fantastic. I didn't substitue the butter for the shortening, I made it exactly the way it was said to be made. YUMMMY MMMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bucket of cookies
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
THIS HAD A VERY GOOD TASTE BUT I DON'T KNOW WHAT I DID WORNG BUT FOR SOME REASON MY FROSTING HAD A GLOW TO IT. CAN ANYBODY TELL ME WHY???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Wow is this frosting ever good! I doubled it - used clear vanilla extract, 2 Tbsp. of warm water and 5 Tbsp. of whole milk. This is a keeper for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This frosting is exactly what it says...."white decorator frosting". It is very sweet, not much flavor (but that's how white decorator frostings are), and it's a good consistancy. I used milk instead of water and added a little more than 4 TBS until I got the consistancy I wanted. I chose this because I was out of butter and needed a recipe that didn't call for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This is the best frosting ever!!!! Here in The Netherlands, whe don`t know a lot about frostings and icing and so whe don`t have a lot of things that you can buy in the US or UK but for all the people in Holland there`s a tip: Shortening can be replaced by creamy butter or as whe call it "roomboter". Thanx for this great recipe. Manon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
Mediocre. Its a little grainy and doesnt taske sweet. I would use 1/2 butter/margarine and 1/2 shortening also add more vanilla extract lots lots more. that improves the taste. looks nice on cakes though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
One word---FABULOUS!! I made this frosting for a group, and everyone raved about it!! It tastes just like the frosting you get on store-bought cakes. I also made a chocolate version--used milk instead of water, and added about 1/4 cup cocoa, and the results were equally as wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Salm Klysen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Easy and quick recipe (my favorite kind!) and tasted great too. Used 1/2 butter and 1/2 Smart Balance veg shortening. Also subbed 1/2 of the water for heavy cream. Needed a few extra drops for the right consistency. Frosting is pretty, spreads well and looks great with decorations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dixfield, Maine, USA
Living In: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
FABULOUS!! I made two white 8" round cakes and topped one with this delicious frosting and angel flake coconut. It looked so beautiful! On the other one, I used a little red food coloring to make a strawberry cake with pink frosting. I decorated it with fresh strawberries. This frosting is so versatile; goes on smoothly and is so fluffy! My husband and grandkids loved their cakes! Will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States