White Cake Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
Mediocre. Its a little grainy and doesnt taske sweet. I would use 1/2 butter/margarine and 1/2 shortening also add more vanilla extract lots lots more. that improves the taste. looks nice on cakes though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
this is the best i have ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLAP2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
I used this frosting for my son's 1st birthday cake. It was very easy to prepare and use. It's great to use for something kids will eat because it doesn't require egg whites. The taste got rave reviews from family and friends as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
This frosting was YUMMY! and the perfect consistency - fluffy! I substituted milk for the warm water and I used 1 1/2 tsp. of vanilla. Delicious! All the mom's at my 4 year old's B-day party had 2 pieces! Used it with whipped cream cake from this site -- my new favorite recipes for cake and frosting! Three people asked for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Wonderful! Quick and easy. Everything I was looking for in a homemade frosting! Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
While the outcome of this icing was very good, I had to add an entire extra box of confectioner's sugar to the ingredients to get the icing to the correct consistency! I followed the advice of another reviewer, and used milk instead of water, but I'm wondering if the problem didn't lie in the fact I didn't use shortening or real butter-- all I had was Country Crock, and so I used that. After adding the extra sugar, the icing was very fluffy and tasted great on a chocolate cake, so all's well that ends well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarkerSolace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
One word---FABULOUS!! I made this frosting for a group, and everyone raved about it!! It tastes just like the frosting you get on store-bought cakes. I also made a chocolate version--used milk instead of water, and added about 1/4 cup cocoa, and the results were equally as wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
really, really yummy and simple. i also used the milk rather than water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNPATEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
I used butter instead of shortening and it was fabulous! The only problem I had was stopping myself from grabbing a spoon and eating it right out of the bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Quick, easy & everything is in the cupboard. I exchanged mint & orange extract for the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States