White Cake Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Wow that was easy! I had bought a store bought container but it wasn't enough for a double layer cake. I used margarine instead of shortening, it was so easy and tastes so good I wish I hadn't bought the first canister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I like it, but if u used it like that it has a shortening flavor so i add a little bit of butter like 1/4 cup and some whipped cream like 1/3 and a little bit more powder sugar, and like 1 teaspone of vanilla, it will make it more creamy and better taste like a vanilla frosting hpe this is better....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Terry Its maybe because your water may have been to warm or that you used warm watter and it may have caused it to melt down the sugar a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Great recipe for a general glaze or icing but not really a firm frosting to decorate or frost a cake with. I used it for my moms mothers day cake and it was great since she doesnt like a thick frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly. It went on well and looked beautiful, but it tasted exactly like what it was... sugar flavored shortening. Not so appetizing. I will try it with butter next time- that sounds much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
FABULOUS!! I made two white 8" round cakes and topped one with this delicious frosting and angel flake coconut. It looked so beautiful! On the other one, I used a little red food coloring to make a strawberry cake with pink frosting. I decorated it with fresh strawberries. This frosting is so versatile; goes on smoothly and is so fluffy! My husband and grandkids loved their cakes! Will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Excellent. Easy. Perfect for decorating. Yummy.. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie Turnage Kibler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Easy and quick recipe (my favorite kind!) and tasted great too. Used 1/2 butter and 1/2 Smart Balance veg shortening. Also subbed 1/2 of the water for heavy cream. Needed a few extra drops for the right consistency. Frosting is pretty, spreads well and looks great with decorations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dixfield, Maine, USA
Living In: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This is the best frosting ever!!!! Here in The Netherlands, whe don`t know a lot about frostings and icing and so whe don`t have a lot of things that you can buy in the US or UK but for all the people in Holland there`s a tip: Shortening can be replaced by creamy butter or as whe call it "roomboter". Thanx for this great recipe. Manon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I love this recipe! It's amazingly white and I love the taste. It was so easy to make and in sucha short period of time. I give my thanks to the creator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States