White Cake Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Thanks for sharing >>>.Just what I was looking for.......BIG HIT with the lil one :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cherries
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was very sweet and therefore perfect for decorating cookies. Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherries

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
So easy and tasty!! I will never buy frosting again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmiller2011

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
A very good basic frosting recipe. I doubled this recipe for a 2 layer cake. I used half butter flavored shortening and half regular and it was still white, despite the yellow coloring of the butter flavored shortening. I colored some with food dye for decorating the cake. Since I'm not a cake decorator, I just did the basic piping and wording. I had plenty of frosting left over. To me, this tastes just like the frosting you would get in a grocery store bakery cake. Very good for my purposes. Can't wait to try to make chocolate frosting and more from this recipe. I don't think I'm ever going to buy canned frosting again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny in Mass
Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Good flavor and easy to work with. It was nice and fluffy, which is just what I needed. I didn't have time to find Hi-Ratio shortening (whatever that is), so I used regular. It was a little greasy, but not greasy enough to kill the frosting for me. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I made this based on the rave review by naples and because i needed a white white frosting (my go to is Butter Cream II from here and it uses butter so it's not white white). My grocery store doesn't carry the Hi-Ratio shortening, so I was stuck using Crisco. This is ok, but def has the greasy telltale shortening consistency. I may use again when I need white white, but will stick w/Butter Cream II as my go to frosting. EDIT: I've since amended my rating to 5 stars....the difference? Hi ratio shortening! It makes all the difference in the world. I also now add a dash or two of butter flavored extract to this frosting, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
So good I could eat this with a spoon! Since the frosting doesn't call for butter, and I did want a white frosting, I used Hi-Ratio shortening, clear vanilla and some butter flavoring. I made 1-1/2 times the recipe (for Mini Oreo Surprise Cupcakes) and used an egg white for part of the water called for, then just added water without measuring exactly until I had the consistency I wanted for piping. This was creamy, fluffy, and pleasantly sweet and flavorful, with no greasy mouth feel. (I highly recommend Hi-Ratio Shortening for frostings like this) I've made some fine white or buttercream frostings from this site and this one truly stands out as one of the best. I ended up with some frosting leftover, but believe me it will NOT go to waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I halved this recipe and it was so fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Really easy and I LOVE that this is dairy-free. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This turned out well for my purposes, although it was a bit too sticky for the light cake I had cooked, so I wound up tearing the cake in a few places. Next time I'll know to add some more water if this happens. However, the frosting also tasted a little salty.. I may have heaped a bit too much salt on the measuring spoon, but not enough to make much of a difference. I'd cut out a little salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States