White Cake Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Great piping frosting. It holds its shape so well and was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I used this icing for some Halloween cupcakes I made, so I colored them orange. I used twice as much milk as it called for, and it was still a little bit too thick. It was very filling even though I only put a little on top. That's the only thing I'd change though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by avaluria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Excellent! Perfect white frosting in under 5 minutes. I needed a pure white frosting and did not have clear vanilla so I went with Almond Extract and it worked out great. I was very generous with the frosting on the cupcakes I used this on and received many favorable comments about it not being overly sweet and having great flavor and texture. This one will definately be used again and again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
worked great! I made it exactly as stated. I think that next time I will add a little more flavoring. I can still taste the shortening (I used the butter flavored shortening). Butter frosting is still the best but this is a great quickie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendyearwood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
DELICIOUS !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAMARIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I'm a big fan of butter (you can tell by my backside) but was out and needed to frost 60 cupcakes ASAP. Made this and it's great! I mixed it up in my Kitchen Aid and once it was combined, I swapped the beater for the whip and WHIPPED IT REAL GOOD (sorry) and it's super light and fluffy! I added the vanilla called for and then just a skoonch of Almond extract to hide the Crisco flavor and give it that "what IS that??" thing. This is for 6 year olds so all they care about its sugar and food coloring. However, I really dug the taste, too. 4 stars because, to be fair, it would be better with butter, but still dang good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
alittle too salty. added in some milk and more vanilla extract to make it tastier. it was too bland without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This frosting is verry yummy! I made it with butter instead of shortning and it give it a more buttery taste.... The only problem I had was that it was too liqudy and not thick... but I just put it in the freezer for 30 min to an hour and it comes out just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smhernandez18

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mcrb05
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This frosting was a huge hit! My mom told me that I could make my sister's graduation cake and I wanted it to look really nice. I bought piping tools, stuff to decorate the cake with, and a big cupcake pan. I never made frosting before and I was really excited to try it out. When we took the cake out and displayed it for everyone to see, people thought it was done by a professional! I was very glad to see not only did it turn out more than I would have thought but they enjoyed it as well! GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcrb05

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
very good! did add an extra tablespoon of water and milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Plantation, Florida, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States