White Cake Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I was looking for a vegan frosting recipe that didn't use margarine, as I had none on hand. This recipe is OK. I first made it exactly as the recipe called except I halved it and used Soy Milk instead of water. Like this, without any alterations, it tasted exactly like the shortening and had a very thick consistency. I added a lot more vanilla and a bit more soy milk. In the end it was an ok recipe that tasted pretty good with the vegan cupcakes. With my alterations, it would have recieved 4 stars. Without them, barely 2. Thanks for the recipe! xx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
The BEST Cake Frosting recipe, EVER!!! THANKS FOR SHARING, LAURA B.!!! :)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Great frosting! I wanted a bit of butter flavor, so I used about 3 Tbls. of butter, and the rest shortening. I added about 1/2 tsp of butter flavoring as well. This was a perfect amount of frosting to frost a dozen of cupcakes, with about 1 cup left over (which I plan to use when I make my Valentine's cookies in a few days). I will use this one again, that's for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This is the first time I made frosting successfully. It came out wonderful but I did not have any shortening so I used lard and butter. Also we liked the thick consistency so we did not add all the water. My husband said it tasted too much like sugar (which I liked) so he threw in some lemon juice and lemon extract. No matter what it still tasted and looked fabulous. I will use this recipe over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ruthy
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for, it is so delicious, I did not have butter on hand and most white frosting's I found called for that. I did have butter flavored shortening and regular vanilla extract other's called for clear vanilla extract, I did not have that. I made only slight adjustments, I only needed enough for the inside of a chocolate cake, so I halved the recipe, also I used cold milk instead of warm water and I scraped 1 Madagascar vanilla bean for an extra punch of vanilla flavor, I found myself licking everything I could it was so good! Recipe was also so quik and easy. This recipe is a keeper, I can't wait to try it with other recipes. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe Laura B. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rota, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NikkysNiche
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Used 3:1 shortening/butter (3 tbsp. shortening, 1 tbsp. butter). Used milk instead of water. Mixed shortening with butter first, then gradually added sugar and milk. Perfection! Delicious and piped easily! I think if you were spreading it, you would need more liquid, but for piping it was perfect!! (Probably added more vanilla... more like 2 tsps!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
this frosting is very very tasty, but i think maybe i beat it too long or not long enough, becasue when i stopped beating it, it looked like it was seperating and looked very grainy, BUT..... tasted smooth and was oooh so good, does anyone know what i did wrong? did i stop beating too early or not beat too long??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanice2130

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Wonderful! I added an extra 1/2 tablespoon of water to make it a little easier to spread, but of all the frosting recipes I've tried, this is by far the best! My husband, who is (insanely) not a frosting guy even liked it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
AWSOM for decorating and the taste is really good, too. Gave one less star because it dries up really quick once it's on the cake. It's a keeper for me but some may not like the drying effect. Not sure what to do about that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Just made this...used half butter and half shortening...making half a cup and added a whole teaspoon of vanilla extract. Came out really good. Will definitly use this recipe again. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States