White Cake Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
I read the reviews and i used butter instead of shortenening. Best I have nevered made homemade icing before it is the best. Thanks to all those who wrote in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This frosting is exactly what it says...."white decorator frosting". It is very sweet, not much flavor (but that's how white decorator frostings are), and it's a good consistancy. I used milk instead of water and added a little more than 4 TBS until I got the consistancy I wanted. I chose this because I was out of butter and needed a recipe that didn't call for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I used butter instead of shortening and milk instead of water and it was just WAAAYY TOO SWEET for me. Next time I think I'll stick to the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Taste was good but I didn't like the consistency very much - too wet, not very buttery. It dried okay, but more like a glaze than a frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TYGRWMN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
My first attempt at icing. Yummy but a bit dry. It kept falling apart as I tried to get it onto cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I thought this recipe was fantastic. I didn't substitue the butter for the shortening, I made it exactly the way it was said to be made. YUMMMY MMMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
Absolutely perfect. I've always made a similar recipe (just tossed margarine, icing sugar, vanilla, and milk in a bowl), but it's nice to have an idea of measurements! And it didn't turn out quite as sickly-sweet as I'm used to. I used margarine instead of shortening, more like 1 teaspoon of vanilla, milk in place of the water, and I didn't measure the icing sugar. I just poured some in, beat it, poured more, beat more, etc, until I got the consistency I wanted. If it gets too thick, just add a little more milk. I used a stand mixer and beat it on medium for about five or six minutes, then added some blue and green food coloring. It came out awesome and iced the 23 cupcakes I made. Thanks, Laura. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
I read the other reviews and was worried about using so much shortening in the frosting so I substituted 1/4 c. butter for part of the shortening. I could definitely taste the shortening in this frosting and I wouldn't make it again this way. In my opinion, it would be much better if you substituted butter for the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
Yum! and easy. I didn't have a problem with the amount of powdered sugar. I thought the consistancy came out just fine, unlike a few other reviewers. However, I used real butter and milk instead of water and shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
My family found this to be delicious cake frosting. My husband actually complimented it...which means that it was really good! I like this recipe because it is not too sugary. I could actually eat the frosting from the bowl and enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States