White Cake Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by faroukia
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I left out the butter powder and salt. I added 3 teaspoons of imitation almond extract and 6 tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder to decorate a chocolate cake. It turned out quite well and added just enough sweetness. I live in a hot climate, so I have to use shortening based frostings to avoid refrigerating every cake I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I put in 32oz of powdered sugar(which is equivalent to 4 cups) and it looks like a hard white ball!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This recipe was delicious! I added a little more water than it called for because my first batch of icing was a little too stiff for piping. The second batch with more water worked perfect. It tasted great and lots of people that tried it thought it was done professionally. Love it! Will definitely keep this one in my recipe box for future birthdays and special occasions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I put this on a white cake. It was beautiful. I followed the suggestions for using part shortening, part sugar. Next time I will go w/ 1/2 c butter & 1/4 c shortening; hoping for a better flavor. I did not have the butter buds on hand. That may be the key in the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Not too heavy, not too sweet (when I used 3c of sugar and scant 1/4c. water).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Absolutely the best icing i have ever made!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Milton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I wanted a frosting that tasted like bakery frosting. This one tasted slightly half sweet and half crisco. It went on the cake well and didn't "deflate" even though the party was the next day. I think next time I'll just buy a tub of the Betty Crocker frosting from the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Just like lots of others, I didn't have powdered butter flavoring so I used 1/2 cup shortening & 1/4 cup butter and it turned out great - I got lots of compliments. I did find that I had to mix it by hand at first to incorporate the icing sugar and then use my hand-held mixer to keep the sugar from going all over the place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
WHY do people insist on rating recipes when they've screwed around with the ingredients & amounts? You can't give this recipe a poor rating when you've substituted half the shortening with butter & then complain about the consistency or greasiness! This recipe is perfect for decorated cakes with a good, traditional birthday cake flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Great recipe! Like some other reviewers, I didn't have powdered butter. So I took the shortening down to 1/2 cup and used 1/4 cup softened butter. I also didn't have clear imitation vanilla, and I didn't want to use regular vanilla extract cause I was afraid it would taint the nice white color. Instead I used just 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract (since it's clear) and it turned out AMAZING! The almond flavor was not overpowering and it this frosting went great on both my white and chocolate cake. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshleyMac91

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States