White Cake Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Easy to make, smooth and great tasting! I did not have butter flavored powder so I substitued 1 cube real butter for 1/2 cup of shortening and it worked great. One handy note: 1 16 oz box of confectioners sugar is equal to 4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
372 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
If I had the option of giving a recipe 6 stars, I would do so for this recipe. Very easy, very successful, very nice pure white, lends itself to color additions, sets well. . . Really perfect in every way. Exactly like the frosting on a professionally decorated cake. This frosting saved a cake made from a mediocre recipe: the cake itself was dry and crumbly, but this frosting made it acceptable for serving. I have been commissioned to make a wedding cake this summer, and I already know I will use this recipe for the frosting. A million thanks, Amy! (By the way, since I had no butter flavoring on hand, I did follow one reviewer's suggestion of replaceing 1/4 cup of the shortening with unsalted butter. Perfect!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
I have been looking and looking for a GREAT White Cake Frosting and this is it. I did not have any powdered butter flavoring and I could not find any at the store so I use butter extract and the frosting was still great. I made the frosting again with butter flavored crisco and it was still great. When using the butter flavored crisco the icing came out a light yellow color which was what I wanted. Thanks Amy for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
With the exception of the powdered butter flavoring, which I didn't use, this is a fairly standard, basic and reliable buttercream frosting. Use all shortening, all butter or a mixture of both, depending on your preference. I didn't need a perfectly white frosting so I used half butter, half shortening, regular vanilla, and enough water for piping consistency. This falls short of 5-stars in that it should be beaten till very light and fluffy, a good several minutes, not just "until well mixed." It WILL make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
I made this for my son's birthday cake it it turned out great! I took another reviewer's suggestion and used 1/2 cup of shortening and 1/4 cup of butter because I didn't have any butter flavoring on hand. I also used regular vanilla since I didn't have any "clear" vanilla and it still came out fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shamokin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fiume Veneto, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This recipe is everything it says it is; Easy, yummy, and white. I used it on white and chocolate cake. With a little water I was able to smooth it to look like fondant on a 3 tier wedding cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
Even though I ran out of powdered sugar at the three cup mark, this recipe was still excellent! I think I'll leave it that way for un-fancy icing for my cakes. I absolutely love it! So simple, light, fluffy and sooo good! The only thing that threw me was the "powdered butter flavoring" until I finally figured out that you meant "Butter Buds". Would rate at 100 stars if I could! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
I used 1/2 C butter and 1/4 C shortening. While the consistency was great for icing, I didn't like the flavor. The different ingredients didn't meld well and the flavor of the powdered sugar was prominant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This recipe is an excellent recipe. I used 1/2 C butter and 1/4 C shortening. It is fabulous and delicious. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This was soooo easy. The frosting was great. I made a batch and omitted the butter powder and used butter flavored shortening instead, it turned out great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States