White Cake Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2000
This is a great basic frosting for all my decorating needs. You can really have alot of freedom with it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Easy to make, smooth and great tasting! I did not have butter flavored powder so I substitued 1 cube real butter for 1/2 cup of shortening and it worked great. One handy note: 1 16 oz box of confectioners sugar is equal to 4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
372 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This was soooo easy. The frosting was great. I made a batch and omitted the butter powder and used butter flavored shortening instead, it turned out great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
If I had the option of giving a recipe 6 stars, I would do so for this recipe. Very easy, very successful, very nice pure white, lends itself to color additions, sets well. . . Really perfect in every way. Exactly like the frosting on a professionally decorated cake. This frosting saved a cake made from a mediocre recipe: the cake itself was dry and crumbly, but this frosting made it acceptable for serving. I have been commissioned to make a wedding cake this summer, and I already know I will use this recipe for the frosting. A million thanks, Amy! (By the way, since I had no butter flavoring on hand, I did follow one reviewer's suggestion of replaceing 1/4 cup of the shortening with unsalted butter. Perfect!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
Easy to make and tastes great... didn't use the butter flavoring and it still came out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
This is an Great White Icing. Very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
I have been looking and looking for a GREAT White Cake Frosting and this is it. I did not have any powdered butter flavoring and I could not find any at the store so I use butter extract and the frosting was still great. I made the frosting again with butter flavored crisco and it was still great. When using the butter flavored crisco the icing came out a light yellow color which was what I wanted. Thanks Amy for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
I made this for my son's birthday cake it it turned out great! I took another reviewer's suggestion and used 1/2 cup of shortening and 1/4 cup of butter because I didn't have any butter flavoring on hand. I also used regular vanilla since I didn't have any "clear" vanilla and it still came out fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shamokin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fiume Veneto, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
I don't know what happened, but the frosting didn't stick to the cake very well and was hard to get through the cake decorating bag. It wasn't very creamy. oh well.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
This frosting is absolutely excellent!! It is not sickly sweet like other recipes. Plus, the taste is very close to the kind the grocery stores put on their sheet cakes they sell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States