White Cake Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This is the best white frosting recipe I have found...and I have tried MANY! This one is not too sweet and not too greasy...it's just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAM29922

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I used it JUST for decorating as I was not to crazy about the taste. It did work great for piping and writing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Best frosting ever!! I did the the 1/4 butter as suggested and num yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I used this frosting on the Anniversary Cake and it worked beautifully! I used 1/4c butter and 1/2c crisco shortening and it tasted great. I skipped the butter flavoring & used real (brown) vanilla extract and it did not discolor the frosting. Between the layers of my cake I used 2/3c raspberry jam mixed w/ 2t Grand Marnier and it gave the cake some added flavor. Great frosting recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mustangsally74
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I used the White Cake Frosting I recipe for my daughters birthday cake. The frosting was perfect consistency to spread, as well as decorate. The taste was no different from any bakery. The recipe called for vanilla extract, but I only had almond. It was a little strong with the after taste. If I have to use almond again, I will use half of what it calls for, but I will make sure next time to try to have vanilla on hand. I also used a stick of salted butter, a 1/4 cup of shortening, and just a pinch of salt, in place of the 3/4 cup of shortening and butter flakes. After reading through just about all the reviews on this recipe, I made sure to mix it for a full 5 minutes. Any negative reviews on this recipe are either taste preference, or user error. It came out beautifully, I couldn't have asked for a better frosting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mustangsally74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
i also sometimes add milk. i also use butter/shortening instead of the flavored butter powder. its great for decorating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This was an awesome, easy recipe. I used it to make many different colors when I made my son a train cake for his birthday. It was exactly what I needed. Yummy, light and fluffy, and it took colors well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I made this to cover a birthday cake I was making for my son's first birthday party. I already had some baker's clear liquid butter flavoring in the house so I tried using that instead of the butter flavored flakes, and that was probably a big mistake. It was overpoweringly butter scented, yet still tasted mostly of powdered sugar. The good part was that the frosting spread very well and crusted nicely, so decorating was easy. I think I'll try again, but swap out half the shortening for butter, as other reviewers have suggested. Hopefully that will take care of the flavor while still leaving a good consistency for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Yummy! Exactly what I was looking for! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This is just like the while frosting from the bakery or grocery store. Does a great job when you are decorating birthday cakes. The only recipe that I use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States