White Cake Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I love this frosting! I used vanilla extract instead of clear and butter instead of the powdered butter flavouring and it still came out white and yummy! It was so easy to work with and I piped it out onto my son's first birthday cake using the Heavenly White Cake from this site as well. What a fabulous cake this turned out to be!! This is the icing & cake receipe I will be using forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
This frosting was delicious!! I would def use this again. I substituted the shortening for extra virgin cococunt oil (its solid)with wonderful and healthier results!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie8484

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Wonderful frosting recipe...makes just enough to cover a 9 X 12 cake....GREAT consistancy and spread ability...will definitely use this recipe again. Thanks so very much for sharing this simple yet wonderful tasting frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Justine
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This was such a good recipe! I replaced the shortening with butter instead since the shortening would be too powerful, and it tasted great! I used just regular vanilla extract instead since i didnt have imitation handy on me and it tasted just fine! But make sure to mix it at medium speed for around 2-4 minutes so that the butter can melt and if you're worried about the white color, it comes along when you mix the icing for a bit! Other then that, i will definitely use this recipe again in the future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
This is a really tasty icing that is really easy to work with and decorate with! This is my new favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I thought this was an excellent recipe. It turned out perfect on my 1st attempt. Me & my daughter are bigtime frosting lovers and this tasted like it came straight from the baker. Very easy to make and so tasty, we raced out to buy a cheap decorating kit w/ a couple of tips and the kids had a blast trying their hands at decorating. It turned out pure white and was easily dyed w/ a few drops of food color and we made some great creations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I'm an admitted frosting snob and am not a fan of shortening-based frostings. There, now that that's out of the way :) - I used this recipe in a pinch and thought it was a good one. I changed the flavorings and used 1 tsp. clear vanilla, 1 tsp. liquid butter flavoring, and 1/2 tsp. almond; the results were great. I'm looking for a wedding cake frosting, and I found this too soft to get good sharp corners on the cake tiers. It's still a good recipe; just not what I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I just tried out this recipe and it came out great! I used regular vanilla, the 1/4 cup butter 1/2 cup shortening substitution, and used cream rather than water, and it came out very white, smooth, and creamy. Tasted great and it was just the right consistancy for spreading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This was a very simple recipe and pretty good. A little too sweet for my taste (and I have a big sweet tooth)..Didn't use the full amount of sugar either. As per other reviews - 1/4C shortening and 1/2C butter and was still pure white. I beat the 2 for a few minutes, prior to adding additional ingredients. Omitted the butter flavoring and added a small amount of milk. I have never made homemade frosting that spread as well as this one. So easy to frost my cake!! Will definitely keep. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BASHERGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I loved the texture and the taste of this icing. I also added a bit of Almond flavoring as well as the vanilla. This is a perfect icing for decorating or just to frost a cake and it is simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BHLLAL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Springs, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States