White Cake Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I used this recipe for an 8-inch, 3-layer white raspberry almond cake. Layers were spread with Smucker's raspberry jam instead of icing. After assembling, I iced the sides then pressed sliced almonds into the icing and piped the top and bottom edges of the cake. It was a perfect amount. My only recipe variation was using 1/4 c. butter and 1/2 c. butter-flavored shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This frosting is super easy to make.. I used 1/2 cup of shortning and 1/4 cup butter since i didnt have the butter flavor..Was to sweet for my taste but all the kids loved it..very easy to decorate with..holds up well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yolanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Amazing frosting, I've tried several other frosting recipes but none was as good texture wise as this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barefoot_Gypsy
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This was a great recipe! However, I'm only rating four stars because I made it per other users advice with 1/2 cup butter and 1/4 cup shortening. I only used 3 cups of powdered sugar per batch, and that was plenty. The frosting came out PERFECT for decorating my daughter's birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barefoot_Gypsy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Andalusia, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I thought this frosting was terrible. I made it to decorate my daughter's birthday cake & it was way too runny to use with a decorator bag. Didn't keep it's shape at all. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
PERFECT!!!!!!!!! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! :) FYI this frosting freezes beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
A great frosting recipe. Not only does it look great and taste great, it's a cinch to make. The texture and consistency is perfect--Firm enough to hold shape, yet fluffy enough to work with ease. Did I mention it tastes great, too!? The only problem I had was with my husband who wouldn't stop eating them before the festivities began! Just FYI--I was able to moderately decorate 24 cupcakes with this recipe. Will definitely use this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This turned out well. I'm not into making frosting but hate the premade kind. This was pretty easy and actually the best spreading frosting I have ever worked with. I was pretty happy with the end result. I put extra vanilla in it and this would be great with other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I'd say it's a good basic white frosting. It didn't ring my bells any, but it will pass. I substituted the 1/2 shortening and 1/4 butter and found the frosting to be to "blah" in flavor, so added 1 more teaspoon of vanilla, which helped it to be a smidge more flavorful. I think it needs some kind of flavoring, but I'm not sure what else to do to it without taking a chance of ruining it, so I think I'll leave it be. It's ok as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Excellent! True professional results, flavors perfectly with extracts, and readily takes icing colors without compromising its body or texture. I have tried many other white cake frosting recipes with hit and miss results. This recipe is consistently the best. Have also tried with 1/4 Cup butter to 1/2 Cup shortening with same outstanding results. Thanks APARSONS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PALMTREEMOMOF3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States