White Cake Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This is the best recipe I have found for using in a frosting decorator. The consistency is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Easy, easy recipe!!! I do not keep powdered butter flavoring so I used 1/4 cup butter and 1/2 cup hard shortening. This will be the frosting I use all the time. I love it much more than cream cheese, butter or cooked frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This icing worked great for the candy land cake I made for my daughter's 6th birthday party. I doubled the recipe, but used one less cup of powdered sugar. I also used 1 c shortening and 1/2 cup butter. Nice flavor, and stiff enough to decorate with. I would definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I was looking for a true white frosting to top my rainbow cupcakes, and this one was perfect. Because I don't have clear vanilla, I omitted that. The frosting was perfect for piping on the cupcakes and held its shape nicely. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Easy to make yes but this time the reviews lead me wrong... I do not enjoy the frosting. TOO MUCH SALT... id rather use a different recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greekqt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Fabulous and exactly what I was looking for! I, like others, used 1/2 shortening and 1/4 butter. Piped and spread beautifully! This combo was also a beautiful WHITE for my Hellow Kitty Cake. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Taste wasn't that great. A bit runny. I would put in less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilbunnyhuhu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
No, I didn't try it as listed because ... Well, because I'm just like that :D ... I have done the all shortening recipes before & they do the job of staying white, but just don't taste good. Look pretty, but don't taste very good. Soooo, I tried the 1/4c butter, 1/2c shortening combo - & subbed half & half for the water, omitted the butter flavoring. VERY GOOD job of concealing a chocolate cake, which is hard to do. Only thing, not even a complaint since I will take blame for adding half & half (think it may have turned into butter with the whipping), is that it wasn't white - just a shade or two under. Also my shortening wasn't white-white either - used store brand & it works fine just notsowhite. I wanted white clouds. Also something obvious, but not until I got to adding liquid coloring did I think of it - Add less water/half & half/milk when coloring so you won't have to add more confec sugar to be able to pipe it on. This is a good tasting frosting that pipes well AND tastes good with subbing butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I thought this had a funky taste to it, but otherwise it it was a good icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
WOW! This recipe for frosting is my favorite. It tastes just like my favorite bakery's frosting, maybe even better. My sister wanted a white cake with white frosting and I am not a cake fan, but I ate all the frosting off my cake! Everone at the party seemed to enjoy it as well. It is very sweet, so if you don't like a sweet frosting, then what is the point of frosting, right? I LOVE this recipe and I will use it for now on. I am thinking of making cup cakes just so I can lick the frosting off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiselput

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States