White Cake Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I made this frosting to use as the creme layer in sandwich cookies - it was awesome! I will definitely use this the next time I need white frosting... Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
I made this frosting last night and it came out perfect. I prefer almond flavoring to vanilla flavoring, so I used almond extract instead. I also used butter instead of shortening, as some had suggested. It turned out delicious and with the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
This has a great consistency for decorating and the texture and appearance also were great. The taste on the other hand was a "WOW" for sweetness. I guess I was hoping for a frosting that wasn't four times sweeter then the cake itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by family of five

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
This was a great frosting. Very easy. I used the suggestion of substuting some butter for shortening. It turned out great. Enough to frost a double layer cake and have enough left over for some decorations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
This frosting is great! I didn't have shortning so I used salted butter instead. I added just a dash of salt because of the salf already in the butter, used regular vanilla extract and didn't use butter flavouring. This frosting tastes way better than the store stuff. Next time I make it I probably will add a touch of lemon juice to give it a lemon flavour, or even maybe orange juice and rind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBYSCOOBY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
WOW!!!! This is fantastic. I wanted an icing for my son's Elmo birthday cake that would be easy to dye and better tasting than store bought. Everyone thought I bought the cake at a bakery, it was so delicious. I used clear butter flavoring instead of the powder. I also added a small amount of milk because the icing was a bit too thick for the desired consistancy. Thanks for the recipe! The cake was a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
This frosting is FANTASTIC! It was simple to make and fast too! It beat up so smooth and creamy I couldn't believe I made it!! I didn't have butter flavoring so I substituted 1/3 butter with only 2/3 shortening and it still came out delicious! It's a dangerous recipe though because I could eat an entire cake with this frosting on it! Not too sweet either. I received only complements on it and will most definately make it again! Thanks so much Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
WOWEE is all i can say! I went to the store to get the things to make a cake and forgot frosting! It was home made so i thought I would look on here, this site hasnt let me down yet! THIS RECIPE IS AMAZING AND SO EASY!!! I will NEVER buy frosting again. Listen guys, All I did was mix the powdered sugar and used ALL butter! (my shortening smelled funky so i tossed it out..) I used sugar, real butter, real vanilla extract, and the water. It was so good, my husband loved it too. Its easy to spread and tasted amazing. I just let the butter warm at room temp before whipping it with the mixer. thats it! if i could give 6 stars I would!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHFLOWERS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2004
I have tried many home made icing recipes and this is the best. Using butter flavor crisco did give the icing a slight yellow tint, but I was using food dye to color the icing so that did not matter. This is the best icing recipe, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
i really liked this frosting. i tried a different frosting from the internet that was bad so i didnt know if i should chance it again but im glad i did i will be using this frosting alot it was really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States