White Cake Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
This cake frosting is soo good!!!! I used 1/2 cup of butter and 1/4 cup of shortning insted of 1/8 teaspoon of powdered butter flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
Made the frosting to go with a cake. My shortening wasn't totally mixed correctly because it ended up with way too much a shortening taste, blocking out the other flavoring, so I remade it and tasted great. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
awesome! great consistency, very easy to make and tint! i also used the 1/2 cup of stortening and 1/4 cup of salted butter. (just because i hate the taste of shortening.) no need for the butter buds or dash of salt if you do it that way. way to go amy! thanx for the great recipe. i'll never use store bought again!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
Great and simple! I have used this for my last 5 birthday cakes!!! When I don't have butter buds, I just spray 2 or three spritzes of parkay butter spray and it always turns out great. I get lots of compliments every time. Thanks Amy! Roswa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
I'm not sure how important the powdered butter flavoring is for this recipe because I didn't have any. I tryed the recipe anyways and found that it was runny and pretty sweet from all the sugar. I put this frosting with a not so great yellow cake and maybe that was the problem. What ever it was the two didn't mix well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I used butter instead of shortening (yep, replaced all the shortening with pure sweet butter). It was delicious and creamy! Just call it a "butter cream" icing instead of white. Easy to make, and easy on the taste buds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
This recipes wasn't that good with using all shortening, but it was aMAZEing with half butter, half shortening, it just wasn't...white anymore :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
This is the recipe I use when decorating cakes. Sets up very nicely and tints very well. Everyone loves it and it is sooooo good on a chocolate cake. Kids and adults alike love this frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEKABA99

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
I was not impressed at all. I followed the directions exactly and found it to be VERY greasy. It did turn out a perfect white and was smooth, but other then that, it was not good. Would be great with butter or even half butter and half shortening, but with all shortening, it was not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatarat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paragonah, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
YUM!! This recipe yielded plenty to generously frost an 8"-round layer cake. I'm not a big fan of shortening aftertaste, so I substituted with 1 stick of butter, (1/2 c.), and only used a 1/4 c. of shortening. I also opted out on using the butter powder since I didn't have any, and also since I added real butter in the first place. Instead I used 1/8 tsp. of dried lemon rind just to give the frosting a slight zing. Really great, really yummy, really easy ... just make it and enjoy!! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYTHMANIAC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Maine, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States