White Cake Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This is my new favorite frosting recipe and seems impossible to screw up. I add almond extract instead of vanilla and it is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I agree... this should be called ICING, not frosting. I used 1/2 c shortning, and 1/4 c butter instead. Liked the taste ALOT, but the consitancy was WAY TOO THIN. Seemed like it was "melting" off the completly cooled cake. I think the 1/4 water was a bit too much. Totally couldn't decorate the cake with any designs. Did not hold at all! Im going elsewere for frosting recipes. If you looking for a simple frosting recipe, just to slab it on a cake, and dont plan on "decorating" the cake, this is it! Otherwise, click the next button and search elsewere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Riley, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This recipe should be called "icing" not frosting, the flavor is good but I wouldn't consider it a frosting like most bakery cakes are
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
My husband loves French Vanilla cakes. For his birthday I baked him one and was looking for a quick and easy frosting recipe to go on it. After looking at the reviews I wasn't too sure about this recipe but decided to give it a go. I will admit that I made the following changes: First I replaced all of the shortening with butter and left out the butter granules. At this point, it was quite tasty but I like a little more creamy flavor so I Added 1/2 stick of Philly Cream Cheese and just a pinch of salt with 1/4 tsp of butter flavored extract. It was a complete hit. My hubby raved about it and my 4 year old grandson gobbled it right up. I usually scrape the frosting off of my cake but this time I ate it all. Much to the demise of my already expanding waistline.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 7SlotFever

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yreka, California, USA
Living In: Scotts Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
SO EASY & FANTASTIC!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ulster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This was SUPER DRY...I made a 9x13 sheet cake and had to add some milk to the frosting to have enough to cover the cake. It was overly sweet as well. Not a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELZFALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastaboga, Alabama, USA
Living In: Kershaw, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TurtleMommy
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Excellent, excellent! Used to make my husband's birthday cake. Very easy to make. Followed some reviewers suggestions and cut the shortening in half and substituted an equal amount of butter (dropping the butter flavoring). Really not that much difference in color. Frosting was still a brilliant white. Tasted quite alot like frostings in the tubs sold in the stores. Used it on the Strawberry Cake from Scratch recipe on here. Wow, so good together. Frosting not cloyingly sweet, and heightens the strawberry flavor of the cake. My husband loved it. Going in my permanent repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TurtleMommy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ripon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I was making this at 8:30pm at night and was too tired to run to the store for shortening. I used all I had on hand which was I can't believe its not butter. That worked OK. The frosting was really sweet!! What I really liked was how fluffy it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This is a great froting recipe. I also used 1/2 cup butter and 1/4 cup shortening and regular vanilla extract. Turned out great! I will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
way too sweet. Had to add more butter, water , vanilla and salt. And after all that I still had to add banana flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States