White Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Everything was accurate, I just added a TSP extra sugar! I WILL make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I made this without a bread machine and actually got my first loaf of bread. My only goal was for it to be good enough for stuffing so I was pleased that we were also able to enjoy the rest for sandwiches and toast. Update 7-16-12: I made this again and, while using less than the full 3 cups, got the "ball" that I was missing the first time. I preheated to 425 and then decreased temp to 375...baked for 23 minutes which may have been a tad too long. I got 18 slices out of one loaf which gets it down to about 100cal per slice if counting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This was wonderful bread. We eat it a lot. Very good and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Easy to make and the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I thought this bread was dry. Dry crust, and in texture. I was not happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This has become my go to recipe. It turns out super light and fluffy every time, but it definitely only needs the light crust setting. One custom version that my husband and friends LOVE: Add 1.5 c. of shredded old cheese at appropriate time on your machine, and then add an extra 1/2 cup of crumbled cheddar to the top just as it is about to bake. It makes a DELICIOUS cheese bread! Perfect for company (or my husband's late night munchies!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This bread is only fair. I have better recipes for white bread already. It did not rise very well and it was dry. Not a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I used regular flour instead of bread flour and 1&1/2 teaspoons yeast instead of the 1&1/4 stated in the recipe. I have been looking for a "light" bread and I think I have finally found it. Very good for sandwich bread, grilled cheese etc, that my other white bread recipes are just too heavy for. Thanks, I think even hubby will use this one for his sandwiches as he really likes the lighter store bought breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
One of the best White Bread recipes I have made . I do not own a bread machine or powder milk on hand so I heated 1 c. milk and 1/2 c. water. I had a hard time keeping my kids away or they would have finished the loaf in 15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dennisville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Well this recipe saved my bread maker because I was ready to send it back. I could not find a good bread recipe until now. I read the reviews and used some of their advice. I substitued the milk powder and water for 1 cup of warmed milk @ 1 minute in microwave. I put 2T honey instead of sugar, and I put 1 teaspoon of butter flavoring. I used the basic setting and light crust. Wow! This bread is what I have been searching for. Needless to say I baked about 10 before this one recipe. I was ready to return my bread maker but not anymore, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Althea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States