White Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I loved this bread and so did my husband, i did'nt have dry milk so i just put one cup of whole milk in after warming it up in the microwave for one minute, i also replaced the sugar with honey. Delicious and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Awesome bread.A few changes as i had no dry milk.So i used none and it was fine.Also i had no bread flour so i used regular and instead of 3 cups i used 2 and 3/4. My family wont stop eating it and now refuse to buy store bought!!20 years of bad recipes and im finally an expert!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Finally, a recipe for soft, fluffy white bread! I've been searching and trying for 2 months before I come across this one. My boyfriend is picky but he loves this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
This is the best bread I have made yet. Light and fluffy. The only change I made was to reduce the quantity of sugar so that the taste was less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Just about the most perfect, versatile, basic white bread you could wish for. Great texture - soft and moist, yet with the slightly crackly crust I love. I reduced the sugar to 1-1/2 tsp. because I don't care for any hint of sweetness and because my bread machine doesn't like too much sugar either and has a tendency to over rise the dough! I do make a point to use the nonfat dry milk powder when a bread recipe calls for it as it is my understanding that there is something unique to the dry milk powder that helps with the rise and that produces a bread with a soft, velvety texture. The science bears itself out with this bread. Great basic, everyday bread to refer to over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
Oh my goodness! This is the most delicious and fluffy bread I have ever made and tasted. Only change I made was 2T of honey in place of sugar and butter in place of the oil. To die for! I'll totally make this bread for as long as I live.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
One of the best White Bread recipes I have made . I do not own a bread machine or powder milk on hand so I heated 1 c. milk and 1/2 c. water. I had a hard time keeping my kids away or they would have finished the loaf in 15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dennisville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KingsHorses
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Really great recipe and VERY easy. Good texture, not too dense and perfectly moist. I made a loaf for a friend and one for us the next day - everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingsHorses

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Gahanna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA
Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I made this without a bread machine and actually got my first loaf of bread. My only goal was for it to be good enough for stuffing so I was pleased that we were also able to enjoy the rest for sandwiches and toast. Update 7-16-12: I made this again and, while using less than the full 3 cups, got the "ball" that I was missing the first time. I preheated to 425 and then decreased temp to 375...baked for 23 minutes which may have been a tad too long. I got 18 slices out of one loaf which gets it down to about 100cal per slice if counting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I thought this bread was dry. Dry crust, and in texture. I was not happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States