White Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
My husband decided to search the internet for a bread machine recipe that he wanted to take on himself and he came across this one. I have to say, we LOVED it! It was perfectly soft and tender and the crust was a lovely texture. It has been suggested that this will be made many many many times in the future! :) Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cole Harbour, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Lower Sackville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This is a great recipe, I did notice that the dough was a little dry when I followed the recipe to the letter so I added an extra 1/8th of a cup of water. The second time I made it I used three Tablespoons of honey instead of sugar and all other ingredients were as the recipe showed, it turned out to be the best tasting bread I've made in my bread machine yet. Perfect consistency, flavor and mouth feel. Thanks for the great starter recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
The flavour of this bread was very nice. However it only made 1/2 a loaf in my breadmaker. I think it needs more yeast?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
It had great bread flavor but it was a bit on the heavy side.I'm still looking for that light and airy bread.But it's a keeper in the recipe files.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Like another reviewer, my bread came out lumpy. The crust was also hard and it was not light. I didn't have any bread improver, and maybe that would have made the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
A great recipe, but I tweaked it a bit. I only added 1 tbs of oil, and then I placed 1 tbs of butter (cut up and placed in corners of pan)on top of the other ingred. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I am always in search or good bread recipes for my bread machine. This definetely tops the list. I did not have any powdered milk so substituted 1 cup warmed milk for the water. I too used the honey in place of the sugar. Bread flour, or unbleached flour worked great. I placed the indgredients in my bread machine and let it go to work. This is one of those comfort foods. My son is home sick today and this is something he could easily eat with his homemade chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COLOBLONDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Photo by KingsHorses
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Really great recipe and VERY easy. Good texture, not too dense and perfectly moist. I made a loaf for a friend and one for us the next day - everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingsHorses

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Gahanna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This recipe is great! I've made it as is, and then got a little creative and substituted chocolate milk for the water and milk flakes. Made a great brownie bread! Talk about a versatile recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Awesome bread.A few changes as i had no dry milk.So i used none and it was fine.Also i had no bread flour so i used regular and instead of 3 cups i used 2 and 3/4. My family wont stop eating it and now refuse to buy store bought!!20 years of bad recipes and im finally an expert!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States