White Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This was delicious and very soft! I made the dough in my Kitchen Aid Mixer with the dough hook. Add the warm milk, sugar and yeast and let sit for about 10 minutes. Then add the rest of the ingredients and mix for about 5 minutes. I needed to add more flour...not sure how much...but quite a bit until it kneaded in my mixer easily. Then I covered it and let it rise for 25 minutes, punched it down and put it in a sprayed bread pan. Covered it again for 10 minutes then took off the cover and turned on the oven. It rose for about 15 more minutes while the oven heated up. I baked it at 350 for 25 minutes and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This is wonderful bread! I used the dough cycle and followed the previous reviewers suggestion of shaping it into a 9 bny 5 loaf pan and letting it rise 30 minutes (although next time I'd probably let it rise 45-60 min). Then baking it at 350 for 35 minutes in the oven. Turned out perfectly! My husband LOVED it and said I should make it every morning! We had half the loaf left over for a couple of days and I made the BEST garlic toast with it...slice 3/4 inch thick, generously butter both sides, put on baking sheet lined with nonstick aluminun foil, then mix 1/4 cup parmasan cheese with 1/2 tsp. garlic powder and 1 tsp. of Italian seasoning, sprinkle on each slice of buttered bread (on top side only) and then sprinkle the top of the seasoned side with a 3 tbsp. shredded mozzarella cheese. Bake at 400 for 10 minutes or so until bottom is toasted and top cheese is bubbled and browning. These were so delicious with spaghetti, much better than the frozen 'Texas Toast' you buy at the store. This bread is requested especially for the garlic toast I make with it! I bet it would make wonderful French toast as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TERESA92
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Today was the first time making this bread and it turned out WONDERFUL! I didn't make any changes to the recipe. The crust was tender & slightly chewy while the inside was incredibly soft. We gobbled it up with butter and honey right out of the machine. I've now found my perfect white bread recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Ijust finished baking this bread. The only change I made was that I used bread flour, probably from habit. The bread has a wonderful texture, is hearty and has a very good flavor. It is definately a keeper -- thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
Exactly what we were looking for - simple and delicious. Toward the end of the baking cycle, the aroma overwhelmed the house in the most wonderful way! The crust is light, almost flaky! This is the end of a long search for a simple bread machine-bread without the crunchy crust. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2001
This bread is really tasty! It is really easy to make and has great flavor. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Asli   Ocak
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
we loved this bread much.as the other rewiews say its so soft inside.i used also different sort of flours and each time it turns out great.the lastest time i added some chopped walnuts.it was yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asli   Ocak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I've made this for the first time this morning. The tast is excellent, my daughter walked in and asked for a slice as she was starving (a thick slice) even she thought it was gorgeous. Same problem though, I live in Johannesburg, 6000 ft above sea level and even with some adjustments still very dense. Will mke it again later in the week though as it's worth it for the flavour. Many thanks for sharing this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusieBlue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
Ok, but not even close to "soft" bread. I have made much better from my bread machine handbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SGORDON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
REALLY GOOD! I agree - one of the best white breads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States