White Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
very good basic and easy to follow recipe. makes a great bread that works wonderfully as toast the next day (if there is anything left!) wouldnt hesitate to give this recipe to somebody who has never made bread before, its that easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I made this recipe yesterday changing only one thing; I set my breadmaker on the Dough cycle and baked it in the oven (after letting it rise a second time in the loaf pan) at 350 degrees for 35 minutes. It is wonderful, I'll make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrauLava
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Great recipe!!! I tried twice in the breadmaker but the bread fell in. So yesterday I made it in the oven as Michigan Mummy wrote. It looks perfect and tastes awsome! Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrauLava

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I have been making this recipe instead of buying bread. It is great for sandwhiches and toast. Give it a try, you wont be dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy1979

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This bread makes good toast (grilled cheese, french toast, etc...) but I don't like it for just plain sandwiches. The crust is too hard and didn't soften when it cooled like the Amish White Bread recipe on this site. Make sure you bake it long enough - I took mine out after 35 min and it probably should have cooked for at least 5 more min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This is an excellent, buttery bread. This was only the second time I've tried making bread with my bread machine and I was thrilled with how well it turned out. I used the light crust setting. The dough rose very well and the bread came out fluffy and light. I will defintely make this again. It was so easy and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
WOW, easy to make even for non Bread machines. I did add 1/8 tsp of Vanilla just to make it a bit more creamy tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This was alright. I didn't rise well but it had good flavor. The family ate a whole loaf for sandwiches at lunch but it doesn't slice into sandwich bread well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I just got a used bread machine with no book, so I needed to find a recipe to use with it. This is the first one I tried and it is great! I've made it 3 times now and it has turned out delicious every time!I used the med. crust for this bread. We thought the crust was crispy and the inside was soft. Perfect. I'm glad I won't need to keep looking. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
This is an absolutely fabulous recipe. It is great if you have a bread maker because all of the ingredients are things you have on hand anyway, except for the yeast. Doesn't require bread flour. I made for company last night and they took home the leftovers. So have another loaf in the bread machine right now. No changes, great just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States