White Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
wonderfully moist! Best bread machine bread I've ever had. :-) Used bread flour and milk at 110 degrees. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
It was delicious! My whole family loved it. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I don't have a bread machine so I made the dough by hand and baked it in my oven - this bread is really light and tasty and my son has asked me to make it every day for his sandwiches :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanielMac

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Very yummy. The first time I made white bread, I used another recipe. It was a failure. Then, I found this recipe, and cross my finger and tried it. It turns out perfect. I made it manually, without the bread maker machine. After it has 'proof' to double of its volume, I punch it down and knead for another 2-3 minutes. Then I cover it with the tea towel, I let it rose for another 10 minutes before I bake it in the pre-heated oven for 20 minutes. I definitely will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ain Samat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This bread is absolute perfection. Great taste perfect crisp crust and very tender inside. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was my first time using a recipe in my bread machine, i usually just do a box mix. I was not overly impressed but it might have been my inexperience and not the recipe. It was a little dense but again I think it was my fault and not the recipes. It did smell wonderful while baking though:) Might try it again and see if i can do better the second time around
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreeneyedGoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yale, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I accidentally forgot the butter, and this bread was STILL awesome! (Lol... next time, I'll make it right though!) I used this recipe to make a ham and cheese stromboli that was SO tasty... a great basic recipe that you can do a lot with! Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Really good white bread. I added 1/3 cup sugar and used Rapid Rise yeast instead of Active Dry, which cut the time in half. When using rapid rise I first mixed all the dry ingredients (including yeast) then warmed the milk to about 120F, mixed it all together, kneaded, let sit for 10 minutes (replacing the first rise), then did NOT punch it down (skip punching down when using rapid rise) then let it rise in my slightly warmed toaster oven for about an hour and then baked for the recommended time and it was amazing! My boyfriend pretty much down the whole loaf with just butter. It was cool, except that now I have to make more bread but from now on I will definitely use rapid rise because it is so much faster. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
My new favorite bread recipe! I made it the old fashioned way, took about 40 minutes in my oven.. but I love the crust. I love a soft crust, and this is the first bread recipe I have found that really has a crust the way I like it. Will make this one every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Schoeb Boersma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Holy smokes, this bread turned out amazingly. I also mixed it by hand and baked in the oven. I mixed yeast, sugar, and mild and let stand for about 10 minutes. It was just getting a bit frothy. Then, I added the flour salt and butter (which I softened in the microwave). I covered the bowl with a damp towel and let it rise, punched it down and let it rise again. I would've liked to have let it rise a bit longer the second time, but I was in a bit of a time crunch to get it done. It baked for 35 minutes at 350 degrees, the top got nice and golden, and could've stayed in another 5 minutes or so. It cooled in the pan and when I turned it out, it was gorgeous. It was light and dense at the same time. I can't wait to make this again. I made it last night and have almost just the heel left...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tstandr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murphys, California, USA
Living In: San Martin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States