White Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
This bread is WONDERFUL!! This is the best recipe for a breadmaker white bread so far! The texture and taste were perfect and the 1st loaf lasted about 20 minutes in my house. I would reccomend this recipe to all. Also, I made it exactly as it said and my bread did not fall. It came out perfect. I would suggest that people try this first as stated before cutting out any of the yeast. I will make again and OFTEN =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Georges, Delaware, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Very good Basic Bread recipe. I made in OVEN at 350 for 40 minutes. Needed a bit more flour, but that's probably due to not using a bread machine; besides one always has to judge the flour 'as you go' as it's never exactly the same twice. Listen to your fingers. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keydancer
Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Big Lake, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Update: I'm reducing this to 4 stars from 5 because the bread wasn't as good the next day. It got pretty dry and crumbly and w s hard to use for sandwiches. It still tasted yummy, just got too dry. Original review: Delicious, soft white bread. Much better than the recipe in my bread maker instruction book. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This is the best ever white bread, baked in bread machine. It is light and fluffy, very nice. Remember, to let yeast warm to room temp before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This is wonderful bread! I used the dough cycle and followed the previous reviewers suggestion of shaping it into a 9 bny 5 loaf pan and letting it rise 30 minutes (although next time I'd probably let it rise 45-60 min). Then baking it at 350 for 35 minutes in the oven. Turned out perfectly! My husband LOVED it and said I should make it every morning! We had half the loaf left over for a couple of days and I made the BEST garlic toast with it...slice 3/4 inch thick, generously butter both sides, put on baking sheet lined with nonstick aluminun foil, then mix 1/4 cup parmasan cheese with 1/2 tsp. garlic powder and 1 tsp. of Italian seasoning, sprinkle on each slice of buttered bread (on top side only) and then sprinkle the top of the seasoned side with a 3 tbsp. shredded mozzarella cheese. Bake at 400 for 10 minutes or so until bottom is toasted and top cheese is bubbled and browning. These were so delicious with spaghetti, much better than the frozen 'Texas Toast' you buy at the store. This bread is requested especially for the garlic toast I make with it! I bet it would make wonderful French toast as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I was REALLY hating my machine because the bread was hard, and heavy! I have not used it in about 6 months! Came across this recipe today and LOVE it!! LIGHT, FLUFFY & PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DuckysDoll

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TERESA92
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Today was the first time making this bread and it turned out WONDERFUL! I didn't make any changes to the recipe. The crust was tender & slightly chewy while the inside was incredibly soft. We gobbled it up with butter and honey right out of the machine. I've now found my perfect white bread recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
This is my everyday white bread recipe. I use the dough cycle on my bread machine to mix it and let it rise. After that I shape it into a loaf and let it rise for another 30 minutes. Then I bake it at 350 degrees for 35 minutes. Be sure to let the bread cool before slicing it...it will keep the bread tender. The crust may seem hard when it comes out of the oven, but it softens as it cools. When I have leftover bread, it makes awesome bread pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
Excellent for the bread machine. This comes out nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Fuselier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Baked it last night. Everything looked good when I checked it halfway, but when the timer went off I discoved that the top of my loaf had totally collapsed. Used bread flour...maybe that's why. Good flavor though. Chewy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roosterlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tabernacle, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bunnell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States