White Bread For The Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Tastes just like the out of box bread machine products. I used all-purpose flour instead, and this bread still came out great. Nothing like adding butter to fresh homemade bread. yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
540 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TasteKing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mccomb, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Summit, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2000
This recipe is great!!! I made it again last night using olive oil instead of vegetable oil and added oragano, parsley flakes, onion powder, garlic powder and some Italian seasoning and it was delicious!!! Hubby was dissapointed when I said he couldn't eat the whole loaf!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
308 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2000
I used 1.5 tsp of yeast instead and it turned out great. I've tried using the recipe's 2.25 tsp of yeast with 3 cups of butter before and my bread always falls, so perhaps my breadmaker differs from everyone elses. I removed 3 tablespoons of flour and added in 3 tablespoons of gluten. The bread turned out soft and spongy and so delicious! It's similar to the soft breads baked in Taiwanese and Chinese bakeries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
Fantastic in or out of the bread machine. I have made it by hand, and the only change was I used unbleached all purpose instead of bread flour so hand kneading would be sufficient. Also, for sandwich loaf consistency wheat bread, I substituted 1/2 cup of wheat flour for the white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This was the best White Bread recipe I have had so far! It came out so soft and stayed soft as well! I will highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pine City, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2000
Great!! This recipe is the closest I have seen to original homemade from scratch bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I've made this bread four times now, and I think this recipe is perfect just the way it is, although substituting olive oil can give you a slightly different texture. It does well on it own or with add-ins (I love rosemary, garlic and basil). Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amelie Bella

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warsaw, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2000
I substituted olive oil for vegtable oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
This is a really easy to remember recipe that even my daughter can put together fast. We keep a copy of it, in our favorites recipe box , to give out, for when friends ask "how hard it was to make" . It is great to put together a few hours before company comes so Warm or HOT Bread can be served durring the dinner, and it was No Fuss at all !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This is the first review I've posted on allrecipes, although I use this site almost every single day. I do not buy bread from the store and this basic recipe is the one I use the most. More often than not I set my bread machine on the dough cycle, pull out the dough when finished (first rise) and form into 8 sandwich/burger rolls or (occasionally) 12 hot dog buns. They go into the oven which was heated to 200 degrees F and then turned off. I let them sit/rise for an hour then bake at 350 degrees for about 18 mins. Perfect buns every time. When I do bake a loaf in the bread machine, it also comes out perfect! Oh yes, I also substitute 2/3 (2 cups) of the white flour for whole wheat flour. My husband loves that I literally save dollars per batch of bread, plus fresh hot bread cannot be beat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 471) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States