White Beans and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I must confess that I did not love this dish at first. But that is only because my whole life I have had a weird distaste for beans. I just don't like the sensation of biting into one. The worst part is that I'm a vegetarian! Anyway, this recipe looked so good I decided to reassess my feelings about beans. Well, I still don't like the texture. But! I threw the batch into the blender with some lemon juice, more garlic and garlic powder, and tahini to make hummus, which turn out to be just delicious. So I say that although I changed the consistency a little, this dish is superb and only crazy bean-fearing folks would ever hold anything against it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I am on a sodium free, vegetarian diet (Fuhrman) and I was desperate for bean recipes. This one hit the spot! I love the sweetness of the pepper. I used Braggs Liquid Amino in place of salt and it was perfect! I also used 1/4 pound of dried beans (cooked) instead of canned. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I made this as a side dish to another recipe at this site...garlic chicken. My husband and I loved it! I wasn't sure what a gypsy pepper was so I used a yellow pepper and was amazed at what a great flavor this dish had. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DROE1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nichele
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
It was good, I would have given it 5 stars if I hadn't had to add zuchinni for more bulk and flavor and I added more garlic and also some cumin. cumin......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Very flavorful recipe! Now that I've made the recipe per the instructions, I might try to change it up a bit per my personal tastes. Some ideas would be to add an additional type of pepper--maybe a hotter one or just green pepper? I prefer only a hint of oregano flavor, so a pinch was more than enough. One other option might be to add some minced garlic in the skillet with the onions and pepper. As is, the recipe is a winner and tasty. Have fun trying different spice blends geared towards your tastes. I did pack the extras in my lunch the next day and it reheats up very well in the microwave, which is an additional bonus! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
These beans were great. My husband and kids loved them! low fat, healthy alternative to other beans. Would def. make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Very good! I substituted black beans (what I had) added a little cajun seasoning (along with other spices)and it turned out perfectly. Really great quick side dish, plus it's healthy! The possibilities are endless. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Yum! I've been looking for interesting recipes to replace potatos and rice in my meals, and this really hit the spot! Very low fat, high fiber, and fantastic flavor! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This is a very simple but very good dish! A few other reviewers seemed to feel it was bland, however it's not meant to be a highly seasoned dish. I followed the recipe as written and the only addition I made was to dress it with a little drizzle of extra virgin olive oil which made it a little more moist and added a little more depth of flavor. I served it over hot pasta with some Parmesan. Delicioso! (I suppose if you want to punch it up a bit, some fresh or canned roma tomatoes would fit in nicely as well.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeniOM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This was good. I served it over toasted bread as kind of a bruschetta/open faced sandwich type of thing. It was good but I felt it needed more flavor or something. I like the idea of blending it up to make hummus though-that's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Pork Shank with White Beans

Comforting, rustic pork shank is braised with creamy white beans.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States