White Beans and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Pretty good, and easy to make. I think the prep time is less than stated, so keep that in mind when planning the timing of the rest of the meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I am on a sodium free, vegetarian diet (Fuhrman) and I was desperate for bean recipes. This one hit the spot! I love the sweetness of the pepper. I used Braggs Liquid Amino in place of salt and it was perfect! I also used 1/4 pound of dried beans (cooked) instead of canned. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Very good! I substituted black beans (what I had) added a little cajun seasoning (along with other spices)and it turned out perfectly. Really great quick side dish, plus it's healthy! The possibilities are endless. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I was looking for a quick recipe for dinner tonight to replace our old standby of black beans and rice.....I was out of black beans, but had great northern. This was so easy and good! I used a yellow bell pepper and added about 1 clove of minced garlic. Served with jasmine rice, salad, and fresh pineapple. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I must confess that I did not love this dish at first. But that is only because my whole life I have had a weird distaste for beans. I just don't like the sensation of biting into one. The worst part is that I'm a vegetarian! Anyway, this recipe looked so good I decided to reassess my feelings about beans. Well, I still don't like the texture. But! I threw the batch into the blender with some lemon juice, more garlic and garlic powder, and tahini to make hummus, which turn out to be just delicious. So I say that although I changed the consistency a little, this dish is superb and only crazy bean-fearing folks would ever hold anything against it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This was really good. Great change from potatoes or rice. The kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Yum! I've been looking for interesting recipes to replace potatos and rice in my meals, and this really hit the spot! Very low fat, high fiber, and fantastic flavor! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
ABSOLUTELY AWESOME except i cut up orange, green and red cherry peppers...and used a pepper olive oil. it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
This was really good. Next time will drain the beans the better. A great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILve2eat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Good flavor, nice change from rice or potatoes as a side dish. Family would rather have rice or potatoes, go figure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Pork Shank with White Beans

Comforting, rustic pork shank is braised with creamy white beans.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States