White Beans and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Excellent summer salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Very good! Even my toddler loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
So so so good, and crazy simple too. I left out the onion and was not shy with the oregano. I could not find yellow gypsy peppers, but I had mini sweet peppers and those worked perfect. I liked this so much I made it twice in one week, which I never do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I didn't read the directions. I just tossed it altogether, added lemon juice and fresh basil and it was tasty, although next time I will finely dice the onion and use less. Or maybe I'll read the directions next time. But, it was so quick and easy to make. I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieT.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
A nice change for a side dish and takes minutes to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
WONDERFUL!! This dish tastes of great flavor and spicyness. I made it for my Mom and Nana thay both loved it and so did I. I used about 1/2 tbs of the cayenne pepper, was plenty, very spicy and great! Thank u for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgangary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
You can easily go with hot pepper(s) instead of sweet. For a spicy recipe, I added a clove of garlic (minced and sauteed with the onions), chopped a carrot, one cayenne and two serrano peppers from the garden, and splashed some low-sodium chicken broth over the mixture to moisten it. It's quite a colorful dish. (To start, leave out the salt if you simmer in chicken broth, and the un-initiated should probably stick to a single hot pepper.) If you're not on a diet, top it off with your cheese of choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Here's my take: great solid recipe that is easily altered to what you have on hand. I like salt, it doesn't like me = no salt. This recipe helped me to use my gypsy peppers. Hum...I have some nice range free no nitrate happy chicken sausage; so I chopped it up & tossed it in as I was cooking. Along w/some zucchini as per another reviewer's suggestion. Then, I thought about the left over (range free,etc) chicken broth I had...& a bit of that went into the wok to loosen up the caramelization on the bottom. (Forgot that I turned up the heat a bit & it worked out! I raise the temperature because I have a lousy stove.) I added the oregano & a bit more cayenne. For *my* taste test, I tossed a bit of red pepper on my serving. I served it up to hubby over last night's brown rice (sans red pepper). More than satisfying & he gave it a thumbs up for his lunch tomorrow. FWIW: hubby is a non-carnivore except for happy fowl & seafood + hates too much spice/heat. Me: I'm the Bourdain of the family...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Gave it 5 stars even though I changed it according to what I had on hand, because I think it is very versatile, tasty, and easy! I used pinto beans, sweet colored peppers, and added a bit of tomato juice. We had it with rice, as a side dish, because my husband has to have meat! It would be a great vegetarian main dish with brown rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I liked it. Had plenty of flavor for me. Dear husband didn't like that the beans weren't swimming in some kind of sauce. It was more on the dry side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Smoked Pork Shank with White Beans

Comforting, rustic pork shank is braised with creamy white beans.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States