White Bean with Fennel Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly, it was very quick and easy to make. I had never cooked with a fennel bulb previously, I'm glad I tried it, the flavor is mild but wonderful. This dish freezes perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
pretty good recipe. this was the first time i cooked with fennel and i have to say i like it a lot. in the end i added sliced vegetarian hotdogs to the mix to add a different texture. i can also imagine it would be good with potatoes. i will make it again. it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Golden Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
The fennel adds such a nice flavor to the soup. For enhanced flavor, heat 2 tbs olive then saute onions, garlic, fennel and 2 more items not in recipe - 2 carrots chopped small and basil until veggies are translucent then add spinach, tomatoes and broth. I only cooked 1 hour then for the last 15 mins I added frozen tortellinis. When serving the soup, I add fresh ground pepper and crushed red pepper. My daughter likes parmesan cheese with it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dining Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Good soup. I really couldn't taste the fennel, though - didn't want a strong anise flavor, but I was hoping for just a tad more. Couldn't "recognize" the fennel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
We really liked this as a light starter for a meal. I used chicken broth instead of vegetarian, because that is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I don't know why exactly we didn't enjoy this soup. We like fennel, we like broth soups, we like all the ingredients in this recipe. The aroma from the slow cooker was divine and my mouth watered in anticipation. But it didn't work for us, and we didn't even finish our bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
The spinach totally overpowered everything else in this soup for me, and I would have liked more beans. I think I'll try it again down the road with about half the spinach and twice the beans. It had potential; definitely smelled great - just TOO MUCH SPINACH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate_elizabeth

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I modified this a little but it was very good. I sauteed the fennel, onion, added carrot, and garlic in butter until a little caramelized then added chicken broth, two cans of drained white beans, one can of diced tomatoes and let simmer. I cooked a roll of Italian sausage and added some extra fennel seeds and some red pepper flakes, draining and adding to the soup. Didn't add the spinach but will next time. This was very good - and I will probably add some cream at the end next time to make it a little more "Tuscan."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Super easy. Very, very good. We made ours with a chopped yellow sweet potato, which added a nice flavor. Kids loved it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cut Bank, Montana, USA
Living In: Drummond, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
A very good soup! Easy and inexpensive to make and tastes great. My first impression was that it would be better as a side than as a meal, but then I found myself craving it for dinner and I've made it several times since then. It also works really well with garbanzo beans instead of the white kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States