White Bean and Artichoke Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I was not a huge fan of this, though my BF loved it. I thought the artichoke and white beans together were a bit too mushy. I don't think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I didn't think I liked white beans, but this recipe sounded good, so I gave it a shot, and I'm so glad I did. This was delicious and very filling. I used two cans of artichokes and a can of olives, and I used green onion instead of red because I prefer the milder flavor. The market was out of mint, so I used a touch of fresh rosemary, which has a minty undertone, and extra (fresh) basil. I served this over spring mix, and even with the extra veggies, it didn't need more dressing. Thanks for a new and interesting way to eat white beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
I was looking for an artichoke salad recipe and this popped out at me. HOWEVER I was not thrilled with the first try. Red pepper led the flavor in a whole other direction; also, I think the mint spoils it. I used fresh basil and the WHOLE can of artichoke hearts. I agree with the reviewer who said to make it the day before serving, too. Flavors like this need to blend. It's tasty but still needs something....wish I could figure out what!! Maybe some fresh minced garlic?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
I found this recipe here last year and have been making it ever since, as is. It's really yummy and I highly recommend it! Great summertime side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOURMETGAL2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I used cannellini beans in this recipe. It was great as a side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
I'd say this was an average recipe. I modified it a bit by adding roughly two cups of pasta to the dish - and then used a bit more vinegar to coat. Probably wouldn't make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
This always goes over well--at Passover and any other time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I skipped the olives and mint and didn't miss them a bit. The flavor is way better the next day, so try to make in advance. I filled a lo-carb pita with this mixture for the perfect lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Didn't like this one bit. Had high hopes bit it just didn't pan out. The appearance was pretty but that was about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2005
I love, love, love this recipe! It does taste better after sitting for a day, or even two, but I can rarely make it that long. Usually it's gone by the next morning! The only change I've made is to use either Kalamata or tiny Nicoise olives instead of black. Took this to a party-it was gone in no time. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States