White Bean and Artichoke Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This isn't bad with some tinkering, but it is not nearly as tasty nor as interesting as I thought it would be when I chose this recipe. I found a can of cannellini beans was 1-1/2 cups, which worked out perfectly to cut the recipe in half. I used the ingredients and measurements merely as a guide, tailoring both to suit me. For instance, I used red bell pepper rather than green, knowing it would add some color. Fresh mint, while I have plenty of it, did not appeal to me at all here, so in its place I substituted arugula. I used the olive oil and vinegar sparingly, in my preferred ratio of 3:1 oil to vinegar. I don't necessarily believe that garlic needs to be added to everything to make it taste better, but I do believe in this instance it might have been a good addition. I also used fresh basil rather than dried. Still, it was nothing special even though it looked pretty. With so many lovely and (for the most part) compatible ingredients, I expected this to be much more than just average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Really good salad when chilled overnight. A wonderful dish for the hot summer days here in the south...thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
so refreshing! great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bitola, Pelagonia, Macedonia
Living In: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This was good, added fresh squeezed lemon juice. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Awesome! I left out the olives though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I loved this. So did my kids. I didn't really measure anything. Just estimated. It is fantastic and bursting with flavor. It is wonderful as is, but with some imagination you could make several variations- adding tomatoes, pasta, etc. I plan on making this for my next cookout. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I loved this bean salad and got many compliments on it when I took it to a cookout for Father's Day. I used 2 cans of cannellini beans and 1 can of dark kidney beans for color. I omitted the fresh mint since I didn't have any and substituted green onions for the red. I also used a whole jar of marinated artichokes which in my opinion was needed since I love them! Even after adding the kidney beans I didn't need to increase the dressing... there was still plenty. I probably could have decreased the amount of EVOO to cut calories but didn't this time. This recipe is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaLizGa
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
A huge hit at dinner! Changes: used a whole can of artichoke hearts; couldn't find white beans (that's island life) so I used black-eyed peas and pinto beans; green onion instead of red; lemon juice instead of red wine vinegar; cut down on the olive oil. Next time I'll use fresh basil and definitely let it sit overnight. Green pepper is a must as it adds great crunch. Really fresh, light and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Cold bean salad, excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Pretty good. I made it the night before so it had a little time to sit. I made this because I had two extra cans of cannellini beans sitting in my pantry. It was a great way to use the beans. I made this as a side item to go with the Parmesan Orange Roughy. It was a great meal. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States