White Bean and Artichoke Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
Wonderful bean salad! I prepared the recipe pretty much as written and, although I couldn't measure 1/4 ounce of chopped mint I used about 1/8 cup chopped, fresh mint. I used 2 cans of drained, white cannelini beans and I used the whole can of artichoke hearts. It was thoroughly enjoyed by all. It tasted fresh and refreshing. Next time I may add slivered Kalamata olives instead of ripe olives, hmm...and maybe some crumbled feta on top, too. A family member suggested I toss in some diced cucumber, too. Nice recipe, Sara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
I made this for a potluck--it was a total hit! Everyone requested the recipe. Instead of vinegar I used lemon juice. I will always keep the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I didn't think I liked white beans, but this recipe sounded good, so I gave it a shot, and I'm so glad I did. This was delicious and very filling. I used two cans of artichokes and a can of olives, and I used green onion instead of red because I prefer the milder flavor. The market was out of mint, so I used a touch of fresh rosemary, which has a minty undertone, and extra (fresh) basil. I served this over spring mix, and even with the extra veggies, it didn't need more dressing. Thanks for a new and interesting way to eat white beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
took advice from others and added a can of drained kidney beans for color with 2 cans (drained) of white beans. added more than called for red onion and bell pepper. also, used two cans of artichoke hearts, drained and quartered. chillled it for 24 hours and it was really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This isn't bad with some tinkering, but it is not nearly as tasty nor as interesting as I thought it would be when I chose this recipe. I found a can of cannellini beans was 1-1/2 cups, which worked out perfectly to cut the recipe in half. I used the ingredients and measurements merely as a guide, tailoring both to suit me. For instance, I used red bell pepper rather than green, knowing it would add some color. Fresh mint, while I have plenty of it, did not appeal to me at all here, so in its place I substituted arugula. I used the olive oil and vinegar sparingly, in my preferred ratio of 3:1 oil to vinegar. I don't necessarily believe that garlic needs to be added to everything to make it taste better, but I do believe in this instance it might have been a good addition. I also used fresh basil rather than dried. Still, it was nothing special even though it looked pretty. With so many lovely and (for the most part) compatible ingredients, I expected this to be much more than just average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
I read this recipe a few days ago and didn't actually refer back to it today when I prepared the salad. I used the basic idea and adjusted the ingredient amounts to suit my tastes. I drained and rinsed both the beans and the artichokes (to reduce sodium). I subbed diced English cucumber for the green pepper and lemon juice for the vinegar. I omitted the mint, but used fresh parsley and basil. I made less dressing, also...probably ony about a tablespoon of olive oil and a little less lemon juice. Still, my salad was very tasty. I will make this again, even just for myself for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
An improvement on tuna-white bean salad, which never turns out as well as I hope. Add a little lemon juice to perk it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This was good, added fresh squeezed lemon juice. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I used cannellini beans in this recipe. It was great as a side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
One of my absolute favorites! I use Canellini, white and kidney beans and add diced cucumber. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States