White Bean, Spinach, and Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2005
I'm not exactly sure this recipe should be in the Soup collection; however, I very much like the flavor and textures. It is a very dry, thick stew - I ate it with a fork - but I don't know that I'd want more liquid in it. If you like these ingredients, you will most definitely like this recipe! (Note: I did spice it up a bit with jalapeno slices and Tabasco sauce.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTTSBELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I thought this was one of the best stews I have made yet this season. I used four cups of vegetable broth instead of water to give it extra flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This was very tasty, but as others have mentioned it was really almost too thick and needed some seasoning help. I added some vegetable stock to thin it out a bit and added some cajun type seasonings, more garlic and some more spinach to this. I tasted it right after I made it and really wasn't that impressed, but I let it sit in the fridge overnight and then WOW. Really much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Not bad, not spectacular. This recipe is like an empty canvas, just waiting to be painted. there are so many ways to go. Italian - add oregano and sausage. Spanish - more tomatoes and chilies. Indian - potatoes, peas and curry. Definately use broth, not water. Use this beginning to create your own masterpiece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
Pretty good soup. On recommendation of others, I used broth and water. I also used less barley so it wouldn't get as thick. Near the end of cooking, it was still really thick so I added a couple more cups of water. After salt & peppering it up it was pretty good. I've been craving something healthy like this and it hit the spot. While we ate, I left this on the stove on low for another 30 minutes or so and it got better the longer it cooked. So, if you have the time I'd recommend simmering on low for 30-40 minutes instead of 10 min. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I thought this was fantastic...with some modifications. The barley definitely needs to cook for 45 minutes. I added extra garlic and wine, oregano, basil, more red pepper and a dash of cajun seasoning. I also added a lot of chicken broth to make it more soup like. This was a big hit with the friends I had over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Good flavor, I added 1/2 a can of left over vegetable broth to make it a little more soup-like. Doubled the mushrooms and white wine. Needed something salty - I added parmesan to my bowl. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Following the recipe exactly, it's ridiculously bland. However, with a couple changes, we inhaled it. Used chicken broth in place of water to give it some flavor and used waaaay more than three cups. Just kept dumping it in as needed. Doubled the beans, and did not drain the beans or tomatoes. Used a lot of spinach, fresh rosemary, and used my favorite, Beecher's Flagship cheese on top. Pair with bread and you're in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This was yummy, but too eaily overcooked for our family chaos. Gets a bit mushy if not stopped at right time - and that makes freezing/reheating a challenge later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
This was easy to make. Barley needs to cook at least 45 minutes. Used brandy instead of wine cause that is what I had in the house. Next time I will make with vegetable stockand use the canned tomatoes without draining. This is a very colorful dish with wonderful textures. But, it needs more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States